Amaranth Macaroon

How’s everyone’s weekend going so far? My day has been pretty chill. Just doing some housework, grocery shopping and getting ready for The Fallen Four Marathon Relay tomorrow. I am getting up at 4:30am so I can leave by 5:00am to meet my team at 6:00am in Whitecourt at the hotel they’re staying at. From there we’re car pooling to Mayerthorpe for the start at 7:00am. I’m excited, but I hope the weather is better tomorrow than it was today. This morning I woke up to thisNot cool my friends, not cool. It is June 4th and we got snow last night, crazy right! I think mother nature is getting back at us for having such a beautiful May long weekend.

I have a week left of my cleanse and I can’t decide if I’m going to have some dark chocolate first or red wine! I can definitely see and understand the benefits of doing a cleanse a few times a year. I feel lighter and more energetic, not quite so sluggish. I definitely miss my variety of fruit, homemade granola bars, banana whipped oatmeal, baked goods and dark chocolate. I can do it though! I was getting bored of watermelon and soaked seeds/nuts for my afternoon snacks so I came up with this amaranth macaroon.

AMARANTH MACAROON
*Inspired by the breakfast cookie

yields: 1 cookie

2/3 c amaranth, cooked
2 tbsp unsweetened coconut
1 pkg stevia

Mix all the ingredients together well. Place on a plate and shape into a large round cookie. Can be chilled an hour first to firm up or eaten as is.

This totally reminded me of a macaroon and is cleanse friendly! You could get creative and add carob chips, Goji berries, cocoa powder, or whatever you want.

About richelleludwig

Food Freedom Coach and 200HR RYT
This entry was posted in Food, Racing, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment