Mexican Pasta Salad-Gluten free, vegan, and dairy free

Hey guys! How’s your weekend been? Mine has been great! Yesterday I started the day early at 5:30am to meet a couple of running buddies for a 27km run. My quads, hip flexor’s, and low back muscles are sure feelin’ it today! Actually yesterday after the run I had trouble driving because every time I had to lift my foot to step on the clutch my left hip flexor just killed me! They are feeling better today though.

I had an appointment at the holistic spa in town for accupressure and a foot massage. The accupressure was on my head, neck, and shoulders. The woman said I was supposed to feel a good hurt, not a bad hurt. I didn’t feel any hurt. I’ve never had accupressure before, but it didn’t feel like she was giving me enough pressure. The foot massage on the other hand was wonderful! I got to soak my feet in hot water with fresh orange slices, flower petals, and oils. Then I got a foot scrub, followed by a foot mask. My feet were then put in a slipper with a hot rock. After that I got a wonderful massage and lotion. It was fun, but I probably wouldn’t pay for something like that again. I would pay for the facial I got about a month ago though!

Today I took Jewel out to Wilmore for a walk. I wanted to cross and go to a spot that has a bunch of flat rocks by the river, but it was too high.The picture above is where we’d usually cross. As you can see there’s too much water right now and I didn’t feel like getting wet.

Jewel on the other hand did.There were a lot of trees blown over from the crazy winds we had a couple weeks a go. No one has cleaned them up yet. We had to do a lot of bush wackin to get around them.
I found the perfect spot for meditation.I tried sitting cross-legged on it and did some ujjayi breathing, but it was a bit too narrow. So I decided to just lay down on my back, which was better. I could hear my breathing, the river below, the birds………. and Jewel panting in my left ear.So much for that idea! My little punk was having so much fun running around off leash.

Here’s one of the hills I do hill repeats on.It’s also a good tobagganing hill in the winter.

Anyways onto the food! I’ve been craving mexican flavour and wanted to make a pasta salad, so here it goes.

MEXICAN PASTA SALAD

8oz/227g Brown Rice Penne

1 can black beans
2 c corn
1 tomato, diced
1 jalapeno pepper, diced
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
1 c whole black olives, sliced
juice of 1 lime
2 tsp jamaican jerk seasoning (okay, I know this isn’t technically mexican but Jamaica is in the carribean too)
Sea salt and pepper to taste

1) Bring large pot of water to boil and add brown rice penne (or whatever pasta you choose). Cook 15-20 minutes until al dente, drain, rinse in cold water and transfer to large bowl.
2) Defrost corn in microwave for a few minutes and add to bowl of pasta along with remaining ingredients. Stir well to combine and enjoy.

This dish was spicy with a hint of sweetness from the corn. I loved how the flavours melded together and of course the different textures. The jamaican jerk seasoning went well with the lime juice and cilantro. A very fresh and spicy tasting dish overall.
I served mine on top of a bed of kale.

I feel well rested even though I tackled a lot of things on my to do list. Now that’s what I call a great weekend!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

