Digestive Loving Power Bowl

This morning to celebrate finishing my cleanse I made a bowl of banana whipped oatmeal. Before the oatmeal I made a green juice.This morning I used:

1/2 a cucumber, peeled
5 celery stalks
kale stems
1/2 a lemon
knob of ginger, peeled
1 granny smith apple
It was actually too sweet for me. I could have gone without the apple. I love all the buzzing enzymes and nutrients fresh juice provides me.

Okay, back to the oatmeal.This bowl contained:

1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c soy milk
1/4 c water
1 small banana, sliced thinly (mine wasn’t ripe enough)
1 tbsp chia seeds
cinnamon
nutmeg

Toppings:
crunchy almond butter
raw buckwheat groats

It was good, but not as good as I remember. I think it was because my banana wasn’t ripe enough.

I have been reading more and more about digestion and how important proper digestion is for our health. So to help my body out with this complicated process I set to work making a dinner containing digestive aids. My dinner contained green cabbage and while I was slicing it I accidentally sliced the tip of my thumb off. Yeah, not cool. It was bleeding pretty good and soaked through the three band aids I put on it. So what did I do? I did what any foodie would do at dinner time.I wrapped a wash cloth around it and taped it with duck tape so it would stay in place.

Digestive Loving Power Bowl

1c red quinoa, cooked in vegetable broth

1 tsp virgin coconut oil
2c cabbage, shredded
2c kale/swiss chard
1/4c sweet onion, diced
1 large clove garlic, minced
2 tbsp ginger, diced

1 Roma tomato
1/2 c mung bean sprouts
1/4 avocado
1/4c minced dill

2 tbsp Cayenne Dill Tahini Dressing

1) Cook your red quinoa in vegetable broth.
2) Heat wok over medium heat, add coconut oil. Once coconut oil is melted add cabbage, kale, onion, garlic and ginger. Stir often for a few minutes until onion is translucent and cabbage and kale are slightly softened. Don’t overcook.
3) Remove from heat and stir in tomato and dill.
4) Put cooked quinoa in a bowl and add cabbage mixture. Top with avocado, mung bean sprouts and Cayenne Dill Tahini dressing.

Cayenne Dill Tahini Dressing
*adapted from The Thrive Diet

1/2 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 c balsamic vinegar
1/4 c EVOO
2 tbsp water
1 tbsp tahini
1 tbsp fresh dill
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 pkg stevia
sea salt to taste

Blend all ingredients together in a blender. Store in refrigerator. Makes about 3/4 cup.

Quinoa in the bottom of the bowl.

Topped with the goods.

The digestive system will love this bowl because;

– Ginger, aids in digestion and helps break down proteins.
– Mung bean sprouts, the enzymes help with digestion. Mung beans also contain very little oligosaccharides (the sugars that cause gas) unlike most beans.
– Lightly cooked veggies are easier to digest than raw veggies.
– Cayenne powder, the capsaicin helps with digestion by increasing blood flow and stimulating the muscles in the digestive tract.
– Dill, is said to stimulate digestion helping prevent diarrhea
– Garlic, destroys harmful bacteria in the intestines while leaving the beneficial bacteria which aids in digestion.

So there you have it, this bowl is full of digestive loving goodness! Well I’m off to stretch. I feel better after my 32km run yesterday than I did after my 27km run two weeks ago. I was quite sore after the 27km run, but not so much today. That must mean I’m getting stronger or my recovery was better yesterday.

Let’s hope this week is better than last week!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

