Have you tried a Buckwheat Bake?

Every day in every way
I co-create my reality

As above so is below
This is what I know

Today I choose to see
What is right about me

When I ask it is given
What I believe I receive

I am preparing for success
I am available for guidance
I have the power to choose
What I think, eat and do

Where fear has blocked me
Love now surrounds me
Everything is right about me.
And so it is!

*Source

I love reading the Crazy Sexy Life blog. It’s so inspirational and always makes me feel great.

This morning I tackled the big 32km training run! It was great! Well my legs were tired and sore, but I already have amnesia and think it was awesome.It took us 3 hours and 20 minutes with one stop so one of the girls I ran with could refill her water bottle. My legs were feeling a bit tired and sore on the hills right away. I think they were still not completely recovered from my hard effort last weekend. Now I’m pumped up for next weekend’s half-marathon in my home town.

The added benefit of long runs is getting to eat lot’s! Hehe! I finally tried a buckwheat bake today.I have seen them appear on different blogs for a while now and don’t know why it took me so long to try one.

I made my own buckwheat flour by grinding raw buckwheat groats in my blender, like Ashley recommends.

I love flax eggs! I substitute ground flax and water for eggs in all my baking now.

For the buckwheat bake I used:

1/4 ground raw buckwheat
1 Tbsp raw buckwheat groats
1 Tbsp chia seeds
1 flax egg (1 Tbsp flax and 2.5 Tbsp warm water, mixed)
2 Tbsp soy milk
2 pkg’s of stevia
1/2 Tbsp cocoa powder
1 Tbsp Raw Carob powder
cinnamon, lot’s
1.5 Tsp vanilla extract
1/4 Tsp baking powder

1) Mix the ground flax and water and set aside.
2) Mix the buckwheat flour, buckwheat groats, chia seeds, cinnamon, cocoa, carob powder, stevia and baking powder in a small bowl.
3)In another bowl mix the soy milk and vanilla then stir into the flour mixture. Add the flax egg and mix well.
4) Grease a microwaveable bowl or dish, I used coconut oil. Put batter in dish and cover. Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds.

Before going into the microwave:

After coming out of the microwave:

With toppings:

Mine wasn’t as gooey looking as Ashley’s in the center, so next time I wouldn’t microwave it quite as long.
It was still tasty, super easy and quick. I loved how this reminded me of a brownie but is way healthier and actually full of nutrients for my body!

Why is it I always feel weepy when someone tells me they’re pregnant? My eyes tear up and it’s rather embarrassing. Oh well, can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow! Hope everyone’s having a great weekend!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe, Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Have you tried a Buckwheat Bake?

  1. Ashley says:

    Hooray!! SO glad you liked it. Definitely takes a few trials before you figure out the perfect cooking time + liquid ratios. 🙂 Yours looks delish!

Leave a Reply

