One of those weeks

Hey guys! Thank god it’s Friday! You know when you have one of those days and everything that can go wrong does. Well it was one of those weeks. Starting with my computer crashing Monday morning, then my e-mail being hacked and not being able to access it (still haven’t) and ending with me locking the keys in the fleet vehicle at the end of the day today. Considering everything that’s gone wrong this week, I’m feeling pretty good though. It’s all about focusing on the positive, right. My positive is that I paid off my loan on Thursday! It sure makes me feel good. I’m also excited for my 32km training run tomorrow. And I’m looking forward to having some dark chocolate or red wine or maybe both on Sunday. Tomorrow is the last day of my cleanse and I can’t believe I went 27 days without chocolate.

I found a really neat website awhile back that I want to share with you. It’s the Environmental Working Group’s Skin Deep Cosmetic Database. You can enter in different products from face wash to nail polish to mascara and it will give you a rating on how safe the product is for you depending on the chemicals that are in it. It gives each product a number from 0 to 10. The scale goes like this:

0-2 Low hazard
3-6 Moderate hazard
7-10 High hazard

There is also a score for the data and the number of studies available to back up the rating.

Data Score Key:

None
Limited
Fair
Good
Robust

I entered in the Aveeno skin care products I was using and was surprised to find the ratings from 5-7. Yikes I was putting chemicals on my face that were moderately to highly unsafe for my body. Since then I’ve bought some organic skin care that is not in the database, but the ingredients look stellar. They are expensive though, but I think my skin is worth it. I did find a less expensive line of skin care that has great ratings. The aloe vera Body Shop line, which I may resort to once I’m in school to save some money.

Anyways I hope everyone has a great weekend planned! I’ll be back to post a new recipe this weekend.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

