Lentil Curry

Last night yoga was wonderful. At the beginning of class the instructor told us to instead of thinking of what we can bring to yoga, think of what it can do for us. She told us to decide what we wanted to get out of last nights class. I knew right away that I wanted to unwind, de-stress and quiet my mind. When I’d gotten home after work I was feeling stressed about everything I needed to do and the little time I had to do it in. I had even considered skipping the 90 minute class, but then decided I needed to go to clear my head for that 90 minutes. She reminded us throughout the class to think of what we wanted the class to do for us. It was a good class and I really focused on my breathing. At the end before shavasana we did some meditation while sitting cross-legged on blocks. I was so relaxed I almost fell asleep, because I started to fall forward and I caught myself and jerked back upright. It was crazy! I felt so much better after that class.

This morning I slept in until 6:30am!! I decided to take today off of running to keep my legs fresh for my half-marathon on Sunday. Unfortunately on Wednesday I noticed I had an annoying pain deep in my left glute. Yesterday it got worse and today it was making me limp. The only thing I can think of is that I did something when I ran hill repeats on Wednesday morning. I didn’t feel anything at the time, but I sure do now. My friend and co-worker offered to try to massage my butt, to see if it would help. She’s an occupational therapist and had to practice massaging her classmates butt’s during class.You know you have a good friend when they offer to massage your butt! She thought it might be my piriformis, but I’m not sure. She used her elbow on me and boy did it hurt. I noticed relief right away when I got up to walk, but it didn’t last. Fortunately I did get ahold of the massage therapist I see and she said she could fit me in around 11:00 am tomorrow. I don’t know if massage will help, but it’s worth a try. It hurts to walk right now, so I can’t imagine running 21.1km on Sunday. If it still hurts, I’m planning on popping some pain killers and doing my best.

I created this recipe last week when I had a craving for lentils!

LENTIL CURRY

1 1/2 c Lentils
1/2 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp garam masala
1 zucchini, diced
3 tomatoes on the vine, diced
3 c vegetable broth
1/2 c cilantro, chopped
2 tbsp green curry paste
1 c coconut milk

1) Saute onion and garlic in a bit of coconut oil until softened. Add garam masala and curry paste and saute for another minute.
2) Add lentils and stir to combine and coat in spices. Add vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Once boiling reduce heat to med-low and simmer until lentils are almost fully cooked.
3) Add zucchini, tomatoes, and coconut milk. Let cook until lentils are soft then stir in cilantro.
*I made the mistake of cooking the zucchini and tomatoes right away with the lentils and overcooked them. As you can see in the pictures my zucchini looks dull and not vibrant green. Obviously I killed most of the nutrients by doing this too. Don’t do as I do, do as I say…..if you want!
This was quite tasty served over a mixture of brown and wild rice.

In other news I am running in the Fallen Four Marathon Relay on June 4th! One of the nurses at work is on a team and they were short a runner. Of course the leg they were looking to fill was the hardest longest leg. I am going to be running leg 3 which is 12.4km with 6 miles being uphill. I think this will be good for my training for Sinister 7. I’m pretty excited, as long as I can get my butt issue under control!

I saw an Iridologist on Wednesday. Has anyone seen an Iridologist before? I also got a live blood analysis and found it fascinating. There was so much information to take in, but in review my body has trouble digesting protein and iron. My blood showed that it was lacking both. I also had parasites in my blood. Eww, gross I know. She told me that it’s actually quite common and we get them from our fruits and veggies. She was able to show me my blood on a t.v. screen that was hooked up to the microscope. I could actually see the parasites moving around. It was quite disturbing to me and because she recommended I do a parasite cleanse I’m starting one on the 15th. The cleanse will help get rid of the yeast she also saw in my blood. I thought I ate pretty healthy, but yeast is an indicator that you too much sweets in your diet. I have to start on the 15th because it’s close to the full moon and apparently it works better then. I bought a bottle of Caprylic Acid combination that I am to take 2 capsules before breakfast and 2 before dinner everyday for 10 days. I stop taking them for 7 days then repeat for 10 days. I also need to follow some diet guidelines while doing this that involve avoiding all sugars (except for stevia), dairy (except for feta, goat, and mozza cheese), and wheat flour products. The only fruit I can have is watermelon, green apples, pumpkin, and crenshaw melon. I can eat veggies, grains, soy proteins, nuts and seeds, and legumes. I am going to have to get really creative with my snacks as I usually like to have something sweet like a granola bar or baked goodie with yogurt. Usually I would be a bit skeptical about this kind of thing, but I have been changing the way I think of things and anything holistic really grabs me. I will do a separate post on all the results because I found it to be so much information.

Well, I’m off to bake a chocolate angel food cake for my sister Brittany’s boyfriend’s birthday. I will be enjoying a slice on the 14th before I start my parasite/yeast cleanse. Wish me luck that my massage therapist can make my butt feel better tomorrow!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Half-Marathon, Injury, Racing, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

