I’m Registered!!

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY MOM AND TO ALL THE OTHER MOM’S OUT THERE!

I love my mom, she is such a great person and friend. We haven’t always been friends but in the past year have come to understand each other more and learned to respect our differences. I am so happy to have her in my life as not only a mom, but a friend too. If I could describe her with five words they would be; outgoing, funny, caring, passionate, and energetic. I hope you have a good visit with Brit and Ashtyn today, I know they’re bringing some yummy treats! Wish I could be there too!

Through the Education of Individuals;
Through Teaching of the Holistic Philosophy of Health Care;
Through the Simplicity of Wholesome Foods;
Through Respect for Ourselves and Others;
Through Respect for Our Planet; We Will- Heal Ourselves;
Heal Others; Heal Our Planet; and…
Ultimately, Advance the Evolution of Mankind.

Yesterday I drove 11 hours to Calgary and back for an open house at the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition. The above statement is their mission statement and I absolutely love it. I am so excited to say that I have registered for their holistic nutrition program. I start class on August 26th, 2011. They have two day classes and one evening class. I am enrolled in the Tuesday and Friday day class, which includes practicals on alternating Wednesdays. Class is from 10:00am to 1:30pm, so I believe I will be able to work a part-time job while I’m there. The manager, Stacey, said the 10 month program is intense and equivalent to about 3 years of university. That being said though, lot’s of the students work full-time and have kids while taking the course. It’s all about learning to balance you’re time. So, I think I should be able to take Jewel with me to Calgary as well! I just need to find a place that accepts dogs.

I had been looking into going to the Vancouver branch as well, because the location sounded beautiful. I had sent them an e-mail to find out if they still had room in their fall classes. When they responded saying they were full and had people on their waiting list I phoned the Calgary branch right away. They informed me the Monday and Thursday class was full and the Tuesday and Friday class was half full. I told them I was coming to the open house and didn’t want to miss the opportunity to get into the class. They had me e-mail them the registration form and penciled me into the Tuesday and Friday class. Then they sent me the rest of the government forms and told me after the open house I could meet with the manager for an interview. They told me if everything went well and I still wanted to register at that time they would need a copy of my driver’s license and high school or post-secondary transcripts as well as the registration fee. I came prepared with everything and luckily I had my official transcript from just finishing my diploma for the physical therapy assistant program I did through NorQuest. I even bought my first textbookIt’s a thick one!Here is a list of the interesting courses I get to take:

SEMESTER 1

Module 1
Fundamental of Nutrition
Symptomatology I
Anatomy & Physiology
Symptamology II
Preventive Nutrtion

Module 2
Preventive Nutrition
Body-Mind-Spirit, The Connection
Fundamentals of Business

SEMESTER 2

Module 3
Chemistry & Biochemistry
Cellular Biology
Pathology & Nutrition
Lifecycle Nutrition-Pediatric
Lifecycle Nutrition-Sports
Lifecycle Nutrtion-Perspectives on Aging

Module 4
Eco-Nutrition
Allergies
Alternative/Comparative Diets
Nutritional Literature Research

To pass we need to get 80% overall, which is higher expectations than my previous school at 60% for passing. I don’t think it will be too much of an issue because I am curious, interested, and passionate to learn about all of these topics. Don’t get me wrong I know it’s going to be challenging, but when you have a passion for something it makes learning anout it easier!

Once I am finished the program I will get a diploma in holistic nutrition and recieve the RHN, holistic nutritionist designation. They also have an advanced designation that you can work towards once you’ve finished the diploma for the holistic nutritionist. It takes about three years to get as it’s done through workshops that are held about 4 times a year. This is definitely something I’m interested in as well.

At the open house they had the textbooks for the program displayed on the tables and I can’t wait to read them! Everything about this program I excited about! I get to learn things that I spend looking up on my spare time because I have an interest in it. I’m passionate about it! Holistic nutrition deals with more than just food. It deals with the mind, body, and spirit. When Stacey was doing her presentation at the open house the more she talked the more excited I got. She talked about how RHN’s (registered holistic nutritionists) take into account that everyone is biochemically different and that you can be eating the best diet but if your mind or spirit isn’t balance you’re body is not going to retain the benefits of all those healthy foods you’re eating. Holistic nutritionists also promote whole, locally grown and organic foods, sustainable farming practices, and living in a non-toxic environment, for example using green cleaning products. I have a passion for all of this and can’t wait to learn more about it. During Stacey’s presentation she said that if anything she wants her students to want to take this course for themselves. I just feel like this is the perfect fit for me. I even met a friend that will be in the Tuesday and Friday class as well. We exchanged e-mails so I will know someone on the first day!

What about this?I would still like to travel and go to Greece someday, but the more I thought about this program the less I wanted to wait to do it. Maybe I can go to Greece for my honeymoon someday!!

So I need to start looking for a place to live that will accept dogs, hopefully in the northeast were the school is. I would like to park my car for the year to save on money from insurance and gas and to be more eco-friendly. I could take transit or ideally if I’m close enough to the school I could walk. I also need to find a part-time job. Not sure what I would do yet. I could look for a job as a physical therapy assistant or occupational therapy assistant because it would definitely be better paying than working as a waitress. I would also get benefits, if I did find a job. The downfall is most positions are either full-time or casual and I don’t believe any of the hospitals are close by to the school. With a casual position you can’t really rely on getting enough hours. Things to think about anyways.

I am meeting a friend later this morning for my last long run before my half-marathon next Sunday. The plan is 13-14km, I just hope the rain holds off. Have a great Sunday!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Half-Marathon, Holistic Nutrition, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m Registered!!

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    This program you are about to embark on sounds wonderful! I’m fascinated by the concept of holistic nutrition and firmly believe that if one’s mind, soul, or body is out of balance, that it can create havoc for one’s overall health. I’m really interested to see where this journey takes you! Please keep us updated with all the interesting things you learn!

Leave a Reply

