Raisin Walnut Hemp Loaf

This morning I woke up bright and early to run. I did 5 hill repeats and ran just under 9km with Jewel. It was a good run and my ankle is still feeling better!! The weather was great too! To refuel I had a bowl of steel-cut oatmeal. The other night I cooked the steel-cut oats for 10 minutes then put them in the fridge overnight. This morning I added soy milk and a sliced banana and cooked another 10 minutes. They turned out great. This is a good way to speed up the process in the morning because during the week I usually don’t have enough time to make steel-cut oats.As you can see the result was very creamy. I added chia seeds at the end of cooking and topped it with almond butter and buckwheat granola.I also made a juice for breakfast using the following:

1 cucumber, peeled
4 stalks organic celery
lemon slice
knob of ginger
1 beet, peeled

This afternoon I donated blood, it was my third time doing it. It’s funny because every time they tell me I should drink more because my veins are very small. I do drink a lot of herbal and green tea and water throughout the day. Like seriously I have to go to the bathroom at work almost every hour. The third person was finally confident enough to poke me with a needle and she did fine. She said it’s all about positioning the arm to make sure the vein is straight. If you haven’t donated blood before I encourage you to try it. It’s really not that bad and I find everyone to be very friendly and funny. Every time I’ve gone the people there are quite comical and joke around a lot. You never know if you could end up saving a life of someone in need of blood. I got a cool zipper pull for donating my third time today!

Changing the topic back to food, I adapted this recipe from my mini hemp muffin recipe to make a loaf.

RAISIN WALNUT HEMP LOAF

1 c + 1 tbsp soy milk
3/4 c water
2 tbsp flaxmeal
1 tbsp lemon juice

2 c spelt flour
3/4 c hemp flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 c natural peanut butter
1/4 c honey
1 tbsp molasses
2 tsp vanilla
1/2 c raisins
1/2 c walnuts

1) Pre-heat oven to 350 F. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.
2) Mix soy milk, water, flaxmeal, and lemon juice. Set aside.
3) In a medium bowl mix spelt flour, hemp flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
4) In a small bowl mix natural peanut butter, honey, molasses, and vanilla. You may need to soften peanut butter in microwave if it’s not runny. Add soy milk mixture slowly, combining well.
5) Add peanut butter mixture to dry ingredients and combined just until moistened. Stir in raisins and walnuts.
6) Transfer to loaf pan and bake 1 hour, or until toothpick comes out clean.Those cookies on the left are a failed attempt at making peanut butter raisin cookies. They totally crumbled so I won’t be posting the recipe. The Raisin Walnut Hemp Loaf was good though. I liked that it wasn’t overly sweet so I can easily it it for breakfast.

I got my hair cut this evening. Before:

After:
My regular hairstylist in town was booked up for the next month and I needed a trim fast because my ends were so dry. I ended up going to a student and I think she did a pretty good job. She got rid of the split ends anyways.


Aren’t they cute? One of the nurses brought these chicks into work the other morning because she had to pick them up from the post office right away, as the staff get worked up about live animals in boxes. Well, I’d say. Yes the nurse had ordered them from the city and they were mailed in a box. She is going to use them for eggs. She was telling us that the chickens will be able to lay eggs in 12-16 weeks. They actually grow that fast. She also said the chickens that are bred for meat need to be killed at 14 pounds as they get too heavy and will actually break their legs because they can’t withstand the weight. This just reinforces my decision to become vegetarian. Those poor baby chicks stuffed into a cardboard box and put in the mail. That is not humane treatment, nor is breeding chickens to grow larger than they’re supposed to causing their legs to break. Just my opinion.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Injury, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raisin Walnut Hemp Loaf

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    Cute hair cut! I really need to get mine cut and colored. I’m one of those people who highlights their hair about once a year and the grow out just looks weird haha. I agree with you about the baby chicks though! Chickens, in my opinion, are some of the animals that are treated the worst. The egg producing industry is quite cruel most of the time.

    • Thanks Alex! I used to highlight my hair too! I think you can get away with letting it grow out easier than if you had colored it one solid color. The highlights kinda blend in at least that’s what I used to tell myself, lol! I love being able to educate myself on topics like how chicks and all animals are treated. It makes me sad, but at least I can do one simple thing to help by going vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

