Herb And Grapefruit Quinoa Salad

Today has been beautiful, sunny and warm. Perfect weather for May 1st if you ask me. I met a friend at 10:00am this morning for my last long run before my half-marathon. It’s two weeks away and I am getting super excited! I ran 13km with my friend then picked up Jewel for the last 8km. It was 12 C when we started and I was sweatin’ because I wore a thicker long-sleeved top with capris. When I picked up Jewel I changed into a t-shirt. My ankle felt pretty good the first 17km, then started to hurt a bit. I think that’s improvement and it stopped hurting after the run. Before my run I fueled with a green juice and a bowl of pumpkin steel-cut oats.

Into the juicer I put:

1 cucumber, peeled
3 stalks organic celery
5 romaine lettuce leafs
2 slices lemon
knob of ginger

I was worried it might not taste too good without something sweet like an apple, beet, or carrots, but it was good. This bowl contains:

1/4 c steel-cut oats
1/2 c and 2 tbsp soy milk
1/2 c water
approx. 1/2 c pumpkin
cinnamon
nutmeg
cloves
almond butter, drizzled on top
buckwheat granola sprinkled on top (need to make more of this soon, I’m almost out)

To refuel after the run I made a smoothie with:

1 1/3 c soy milk
1 frozen banana, sliced
1/2 scoop of Vega protein powder
1 tbsp carob powder

It tasted like a chocolate milkshake! After stretching for a good hour and doing my physio exercises I was ready for a real lunch. I whipped up some Lemon Dill Hummus (recipe coming soon) and ate it on top of a salad with a flax pita. I also had some greek yogurt with a crumbled up granola bar, I had made this morning before going running. It was a tasty satisfying lunch.

With the wonderful weather we’ve been having it’s got me craving fresh salads. Last night I made a big bowl of Quinoa salad so I’d have a quick healthy meal to eat during the week.

Herb And Grapefruit Quinoa Salad

1 c Quinoa
2 c water

1/2 c green onion, sliced
3/4 c cilantro, chopped
1/3 c dill, chopped
1/3 c basil, chopped
1 yellow bell pepper, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
5 radishes, sliced then cut into quarters
1 grapefruit, chopped
3/4 c walnuts, chopped and toasted
3 tsp EVOO
4 tsp lemon juice
Sea salt and cracked pepper to taste

1) Put Quinoa and water in a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 15 minutes. Once done cooking remove from heat and let stand.
2) Toast walnuts in a pan over medium heat, making sure not to burn them. Once toasted set aside.
3) Combine green onion, cilantro, dill, basil, peppers, radishes, and grapefruit in a bowl. Add quinoa and walnuts and stir to incorporate.
4) Drizzle with EVOO and lemon juice and season with sea salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste. Serve chilled.

I loved the flavours in this salad, so fresh and perfect for spring!

Well I didn’t tackle everything on my to do list, but I did get a lot done. My room and car are both clean again and that just makes me so happy! I’m excited for next week because I found out the one yoga instructor is going to do a thursday evening class! Also on Saturday I’m heading to Calgary for an open house at the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition. I’m pretty pumped about this! Hope everyone had a great weekend!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Half-Marathon, Injury, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herb And Grapefruit Quinoa Salad

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    This quinoa salad looks absolutely amazing!! I adore quinoa with any kind of citrus, and once made a quinoa and cilantro salad with a citrus vinaigrette. It was absolutely delicious and so refreshing!

Leave a Reply

