Spring Quinoa Salad with Cilantro and Mint

Hello, hope everyone’s Wednesday went well. I was up early this morning, diligently doing my stretches and exercises. I also did 45 mins of yoga from my Shiva Rea DVD. It was great, but I am missing the classes. For breaky I made a bowl of oatmeal.This bowl has:

1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c soy milk
1 ripe banana, sliced thinly
1/2 c pumpkin
cinnamon
nutmeg
cloves
1 tbsp chia seeds
almond butter
drizzle (or more like puddle)
pumpkin seedsI love how pumpkin adds so much volume.

I made a fresh juice with my lunch today using a cucumber, celery, broccoli stalk, tomato and ginger. I have been drinking a juice in the morning before breakfast, but I ran out of time today. Although I found time to make oatmeal! For lunch I made a massive salad consisting of:

Organic mixed greens
strawberries
1/4 of an avocado
bean burger, crumbled
a bit of mushroom risotto

On the side I had my last “earthy” bun. I will have to make these again, they really grew on me. I used whole wheat flour, spelt flour, rye flour, and hemp flour to make them.It was a really satisfying lunch, but I had to eat really fast so I wouldn’t be late. I did my one eccentric exercise for my extensor digitorum tendon first thing when I got home, because I need to do it three times a day. My lunch breaks are a bit more rushed now.

After work I took Jewel for a wonderful 7km run. It was nice enough out that I could wear capri’s today, with a long sleeved top. The sun felt so good on my skin and my ankle almost felt a bit better! After our glorious run I whipped up a quick Quinoa salad. I had cooked the Quinoa this morning while I was getting ready to help save time.

Spring Quinoa Salad with Cilantro and Mint

1 c Quinoa
1/2 c vegetable broth
1 1/2 c water

2 c mushrooms, diced
2 c cabbage, chopped

1/4 c yellow onion, diced
1/3-1/2 c cilantro, chopped
1/4 c mint, chopped
3 tbsp pine nuts, toasted
1/3 c raisins

1) Put Quinoa, vegetable broth and water in a pot and bring to a boil. Cover and cook 15 minutes then let sit for 5 minutes before removing lid.
2) Sautee mushrooms and cabbage in a bit of coconut oil until just tender. Add to Quinoa in a medium sized bowl.
3) Toast pine nuts in a skillet over medium heat, making sure not to burn. Once lightly browned and fragrant add to quinoa mixture along with raisins, cilantro and mint. Combine well. Serve immediately or chill in fridge.I just love dishes like this. It was really fresh tasting with the herbs in it and I found the cilantro and mint went well together. I loved the addition of toasted pine nuts and the raisins added that touch of sweetness.
My plate:

One more day and then it’s a five day weekend for me! Tomorrow after work I have spin and then a facial! I’m excited about the facial because it’s at a holistic spa. They were selling cards at work the other day that have 6 services, which you get to choose 5 of for $58. I chose to get the custom organic express facial first. My other choices are Iridology, 30 minutes relaxation massage, SOQI healing machine, foot massage, and acupressure treatment. I’m interested in getting the Iridology as well. The SOQI machine I’m not too sure about yet, I need to do a bit of research first to learn more about it. I would get to use it for a month. Anyone know anything about these machines?

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

