Mushroom Risotto

Hello! It’s the weekend again! The weeks sure go by quickly lately. I had a great sleep last night and felt well rested today. I stated my day with a bowl of oats.In the mix:
1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c almond milk
cinnamon
1 tbsp carob powder
3 spoons of cooked Quinoa
1 tbsp chia seeds

Toppings:

cashew butter
granola

So look what showed up yesterday.Yes, I got a juicer! I’m a sucker for a good deal on anything to do with health and fitness…or anything really. After reading about the benefits of juicing in “Crazy Sexy Diet” I went on amazon and found this beauty, which Kriss Carr recommends. I always feel guilty when I spend money on things like this but I consider it an investment for my health. I couldn’t wait to try it out. I didn’t have time this morning, but at lunch I came home and cleaned it before I went to work creating a lovely green juice. It was very easy to use and you can put full cucumbers and apples into this thing.

First I prepped the veggies and fruit.1 whole cucumber, peeled because it wasn’t organic
2 small carrots, peeled, because not organic
4 small organic stalks of celery
1 organic Gala apple
1/2 inch piece of ginger

Next I turned on the juicer and slowly pushed all the veggies and apple through the feed chute.And voila, you have juice!

Now for the taste test.The verdict? I loved it! It was so fresh and light. The apple added a slight sweetness to it, but nothing like apple juice (I dislike apple juice). It wasn’t thick and heavy like those V8 drinks. I also couldn’t detect the ginger, so next time I’m going to be braver and put more in. I’m not sure what I was expecting but this was wonderful. Now I just need to figure out what to use the leftover pulp for.

With my fresh juice I had some Spring Legume and Sweet Potato Salad with red cabbage. I felt so good after eating this lunch!

Today ended up being a rest day because I was hungry when I got home and decided to put the package of mushrooms in the fridge to good use.

MUSHROOM RISOTTO

1 1/2 c Farro
3 c organic vegetable broth
2 tsp EVOO
4 c diced mushrooms
3 cloves garlic
1/2 c parmesan cheese
1/2 c parsley, chopped

1) Heat 1 tsp of EVOO in a skillet over medium heat. Add mushrooms and garlic, stir and cover with a lid to keep steam in. Cook about 5 minutes until tender.
2) Remove lid and add Farro, stirring to combine with mushroom mixture. Add vegetable broth and bring to a boil. Once boiling turn heat to medium-low and cover with a lid for 15 minutes.
3) Remove lid and add parmesan cheese. Continue cooking letting remainder of liquid evaporate, stirring often.
4) Once liquid is evaporated/absorbed turn off heat and stir in parsley and 1 tsp EVOO.This is creamy and oh so good. You could even omit the parmesan cheese if you wanted to make it vegan and I still think it would turn out great. If you don’t have Farro, barley or rice would work just fine. Also if I’d had white wine I would have substituted half a cup of vegetable broth for white wine.

I am off to the city tomorrow evening to hang with my sisters, after I get things done around the house first. Hope everyone has a great weekend!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

