Vegan Mac and Cheeze

Hey guys! Today has been a beautiful day. I woke up to sunshine and it immediately put a smile on my face! Summer is coming! After fueling with an aesthetically pleasing (compared to yesterdays) Green Monster, I met a friend for a run. It was absolutely glorious to run in the sun and warm weather (6 C). I did a total of 12km, which was half of what I was suppose to do according to my training plan. I did feel a bit of pain on the top of my left foot where the Extensor Digitorum tendon attaches to, as well as a bit of pain in the left shin. I put heat on it for 10 minutes before I ran using my homemade hot pack. All I did was fill an old sock with rice and tied the end up. I heated it in the microwave for 3 minutes and voila, moist heat! It works great. As soon as I got back from my run I iced it, using a bag of frozen berries. It worked good too!

This afternoon I had made a Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough ‘Blizzard’ for a sweet snack. I have been thinking about it ever since Angela posted the recipe on her blog.Mine didn’t look as pretty as Angela’s, but it sure tasted amazing. My banana soft serve was a bit on the runny side, because I kept adding a bit of almond milk at a time to thin it out. My carton was almost empty and eventually I just poured the rest into the blender, which ended up being too much liquid. I stored the extra Chocolate Cookie Dough balls in the freezer for next time, if I don’t eat them all first. They are sooo good on their own and are made of cashews, oats, spelt flour, natural cane sugar, sea salt, vanilla, maple syrup, and dark chocolate chunks.

Now changing the topic to something else that’s creamy, but not so sweet.

VEGAN MAC AND CHEEZE

Adapted from Oh She Glows and Vegan Epicurean.

2 c pasta, cooked (I used organic brown rice spirals)

1 head of cauliflower
2 large carrots

1/2 c onion, diced
3 cloves garlic
1/4 c cashew butter
2 tsp mustard
4 tbsp nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/4 c vegetable broth
Sea salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

1) Chop cauliflower and carrots into 1/2 inch to 1 inch pieces. Steam until fork tender. I put mine in the same pot, but you may want to put them in separate pots as the carrots and only about half of the cauliflower get blended into the sauce. I just picked the carrots out of the mix.

2) In a pan sautee the onion and garlic until soft, then set aside.

3) Once the cauliflower and carrots are done cooking start your pasta.

4) In a blender/food processor mix the carrots, about half the cauliflower, cashew butter, mustard, nutritional yeast, onion & garlic, turmeric, veggie broth, and salt & pepper. Now taste it, at this point you may want to add more spices or nutritional yeast. Next time I think I would double the nutritional yeast to give it a cheezier flava.

5) Once the pasta is finished cooking drain it then toss it in a bowl with the remaining cauliflower. Pour as much of the ‘cheeze’ sauce over the pasta as you want. I had some leftover, which I stored in a tupperware container in the fridge. Transfer to a baking dish and sprinkle with bread crumbs and paprika if desired.

6) Bake for 30 minutes at 350 F.
This was super creamy with a touch of sweetness from the carrots and cauliflower. The sauce had actually tasted ‘cheezier’ on it’s own, but when added to the cauliflower and pasta it didn’t taste as cheezy. Next time I would add more nutritional yeast, but I still enjoyed it. I loved how much veggies were hidden in this dish.
Back to the grind tomorrow!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Injury, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

