Tangy Tahini Dressing

Hey guys, how has your Saturday been? Mine’s been great. This morning I was feeling inspired by Kris Carr’sCrazy Sexy Diet” to get some greens in for breakfast. Since I don’t have a juicer….yet, I opted for a smoothie.I know this looks like green sludge, but it tastes great. Really, it does.

Into the magic bullet:

2 big handfuls of organic spinach
1/4 avocado
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 c of frozen mixed berries
1 c almond milk

After my smoothie I spent some time with Shiva Rea. It felt wonderful to stretch and breath and do something good for my mind.

For lunch I was craving a big ol’ salad.Into a large bowl I put:

-mixed organic greens
-2 diced organic Roma tomatoes
-red cabbage
-1 c quinoa
-Tangy Tahini dressing, drizzled on top

Tangy Tahini Dressing

-1/4 c + 1 1/2 tbsp of Tahini (the rest of the opened jar I had)
-2 tbsp EVOO
-3 tbsp apple cider vinegar
-1/2 tbsp tamari
-2 tbsp hemp seeds
-3 small cloves garlic, minced
-1 tbsp lemon juice
-2 tbsp water
-1 tsp fresh ginger, grated
-fresh ground pepper and sea salt to taste

Place everything into a mini chopper/food processor/blender and combine until smooth.

I absolutely loved the flavour of this dressing. It’s creamy and the apple cider vinegar makes it tangy and gives it some bite. You could add more water to make a thinner dressing.

After lunch I took Jewel for a walk on some of the trails in town. I like taking her here because I can let her off leash so she can run around and burn some energy.She’s so spunky!

After our walk Jewel got a bath and I got a snack. With the spring like weather we’ve been getting comes mud and it’s hard to avoid it. After cleaning Jewel up I pulled out the breakfast cookie I had prepped prior to leaving.

The ingredients:

-1/3 c rolled oats
-1/2 scoop of vanilla Vega protein powder
-1 tbsp almond butter
-cinnamon
-2 tbsp almond milk
-1/2 mashed banana

I mixed the ingredients all together then spread on a plate in the shape of a giant cookie and stuck it in the fridge. When I got back I ate it sprinkled with chia seeds. It tasted like a cookie! It’s green because of the Vega protein powder.

For dinner tonight I did my take at Vegan Mac & Cheese. It was creamy and good. I’ll post the recipe soon. I’m off to see if I can find an old sock and some rice to make a heat pad for my ankle. Then I’m going to stretch and do some active release on my Extensor Digitorum. The chiropractor showed me how to do it on myself.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

