Feels like spring

This morning I tested out my new running shoes on the treadmill. I also tested out my left ankle/leg to see how it was feeling. I ran for 20 minutes and my ankle actually felt much better. I didn’t feel any pain in it, but did feel a bit of pain higher up in the shin, which is where the Extensor Digitorum tendon runs. After my wonderous 20 mins on the treadmill I did a 30 minute workout using my TRX. I took a TRX class last spring and really loved it. They are super portable and use your body weight as resistance. I found one online for a good deal and had to order it. I actually got it last friday and tried it out on monday as well. I can tell it’s going to help build my core strength.

BREAKFAST

For breakfast I had prepped some overnight oats, using;

1/3 c spelt flakes
2/3 c almond milk
2 tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp vanilla extract
cinnamon

This morning when I pulled them out of the fridge they were nice and thick like pudding from the chia seeds gelatinizing. Is that a word? Oh well, I’m using it! I added some raw buckwheat for crunchand defrosted berries for some sweetness. It was quite good for a change.

LUNCH

I was running low on time after running a couple of errands first before coming home, so lunch had to be quick. I poached an egg and egg white in the microwave, toasted some homemade “earthy” bread, and chopped up some veggies.I added avocado and tomato to the egg sandwich. Halfway through I started gagging over the texture and had to throw half the sandwich out. All I could think of was Kris Carr’s (from crazy sexy diet) description of eggs as chicken fetuses. Gag me. It didn’t help that the egg got cold while I was toasting the bread. Cold meat and eggs have always made me gag. Cold pizza, no way! I don’t know what it is but I can’t hack it. I had to rush to get back to work on time, but I knew I had some walnuts I could munch on to hold me over for a while, as well as some yogurt with flax and granola for a snack.

DINNER

I was craving veggies tonight. To go with them I cooked some quinoa in a pot. While the quinoa cooked I prepped a bunch of veggies.I lightly sauteed some onion, garlic, broccoli, red cabbage, corn, and edamame. Once the quinoa was finished cooking I added some to the veggies. I served the mixture with tomato, apple cider vinegar and nutritional yeast (yay vitamin B12!). I just realized I forgot to add a drizzle of EVOO. Oh well, next time I suppose.

Well it finally feels like spring here! A ton of snow has melted over the past few days. I took Jewel out for a walk tonight and it was wonderful. I took her to some trails so she could run around off leash and burn some energy. I’m glad it’s the weekend. Hope every has a fun, relaxing weekend planned. I think mine will be fairly relaxing.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

