Active Release and Gait Analysis

Today I took a complete rest day. I need to make sure I take rest days more often. Sometimes I tend to push myself too hard and feel like I need to do everything including running, cross-training, strength training, and yoga. I have to remember that rest days will make me stronger by allowing my muscles to rebuild themselves. If I’m always doing something they will never get that chance and that’s when injury occurs. I’ve decided to knock my strength training down to 2 times a week. Running I will keep at 3 times a week and cross training I will do 1-2 times, depending on how I feel. Yoga I will keep doing 2-3 times a week.

I booked an appointment today for active release on my lower left leg and foot. One of the chiropractor’s in town does it and I’ve been to him before. I got in after work and he worked on the Extensor Digitorum as well as a sheath of tendon in the ankle that holds the Extensor Digitorum down. Also some of my calf muscles were tight so he did a few passes on them as well. I felt looser after so I hope it helps. He said I could try a short run tomorrow and see how it feels, then if I want to come in before my long run to book with him for the end of the week. I think I’ll try a short run on the treadmill tomorrow so that if it starts to hurt I can jump off.

I also booked an appointment at the Glen Sather sports clinic in the city for a gait analysis. My appointment isn’t until April 13th. The girl I spoke to said that they will put sensors on my calves and back of my thighs. I will also have to wear a belt with sensors and they provide me with shoes that have sensors built into them. She told me to bring socks, shorts, and a t-shirt and that I will have to run on the treadmill for about 5 minutes. Once I’m done I will receive a report with my results. The girl told me I could take the results to any physio to get assessed or book another appointment with them. I asked since I’m not from the city if there was any way I could book an appointment to get assessed with them right after the test. I ended up being able to do this so I will do the gait analysis first then have a physical assessment by a physio there with my results and she will be able to tell me what my weak links are and build a strengthening program for me. I am going to also mention to them the pain I still get occasionally in my left SI joint.

I think by acting now I will be able to prevent worse or further injury and to me the cost of the test and assessment are worth it.

Some of my eats of the day:

BREAKFAST1/3 c oatbran mixed with spelt flakes
1/2 c almond milk
1/3 c water
1/2 ripe banana, sliced thinly
cinnamon
1 tbsp chia seeds, added at end of cooking
big spoon of almond butter
sprinkle of granola

LUNCHA big salad of mixed organic greens, broccoli, red cabbage, tomatoes, sunflower seeds, and a drizzle of balsamic vinegar and EVOO.I also had a flax whole wheat pita stuffed with lentils and Franks hot sauce.

DINNERAmaranth! I finally tried it. I decided to stay simple to start with and just cooked it in water. For 1 cup of amaranth you use 2 1/2 cups of water. I loved the slightly sweet, nutty flavour of amaranth. I topped it with some lightly cooked carrots, onions, mushrooms, garlic, corn, and tomato, then sprinkled with nutritional yeast. It was super tasty! I got lot’s of protein from the amaranth and nutritional yeast.

We finally saw the the sun today and warm weather, I just wish I’d had more time to get out and enjoy it.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Injury, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

