Strawberry Banana Soft Serve, Vegan Overnight Oats Parfait

Good morning! My alarm went off at five this morning and all I wanted to do was crawl back under the covers and go back to sleep. However, I knew it was the last spin class so I got up and got ready. It has finally stopped snowing this morning and we’re suppose to see the sun this afternoon. Yay vitamin D, how you make me happy!Can you believe all the snow we have? I think I forget every year that it doesn’t melt until early May.

After spin I rushed home to make this beauty.This was of course inspired by Angela’s Banana soft serve VOO (vegan overnight oats) recipes. The idea for the strawberry banana soft serve came from her Strawberry Shortcake Stacked Pancakes she posted the other day. I just love her recipes. Her pictures make me salivate on my computer screen.

I prepped the VOO mixture last night by combining;

1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c almond milk
2 tbsp ground flax (I’m still waiting for my chia order to arrive, but the flax worked well)
cinnamon
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

This morning I pulled the mixture out of the fridge and it was nice and thick.To make the Strawberry Banana Soft Serve I put 1 frozen banana, sliced up and 6 strawberries in my magic bullet with about a tbsp of water (all out of almond milk). I blended it up until it was smooth.Mine turned out bright pink because I used so many strawberries, but they were on their last leg and I wanted to use them up.

Next up is the fun part, layering. In a tall glass I started with a layer of VOO, then Strawberry Banana Soft Serve followed by another layer of VOO. Then I snuck in a surprise layer of crunchy almond butter and coconut, topped with more Strawberry Banana Soft Serve, VOO, and the last of the Soft Serve. On top I sprinkled more coconut to make it look pretty.It was good but I can see myself enjoying more in the summer when it’s hot out. I drank a lot of hot green tea with this to stay warm. I missed my hot bowl of oatmeal after eating this, with the melty almond butter.

It’s friday for me today! Just thought I’d throw that out there.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

