Lentil Kabocha Squash Baked Burritos

This morning I woke up to more snow. The roads were just starting to dry up and now they are covered in snow again. On the bright side it’s still warm out. I fueled for my 16km run with a bowl of steel cut oats this morning.I used 1/4 c steel cut oats
1/2 c almond milk
1/2 c water
1 ripe banana
cinnamon
1 tbsp ground flax
lot’s of peanut butter and raspberry jam.The steel cut oats take about 25 minutes to cook, so I didn’t add the banana until they’d been cooking for 10 minutes. They are a bit chewier than regular rolled oats, which I enjoyed for a change.

Jewel and I took off on our run around 10:00am this morning, and it was still snowing out. I find it peaceful running when it’s snowing out, it just seems quieter. The snow was heavy and wet because it was warm, so I was soaked when I got back. Of course drinking a smoothie after wasn’t a great idea because I got a chill. I rushed over to my grandma’s to have a hot shower and bundled with wool socks and all after. My grandma and I played the card game Mean, until I beat her with over 7000 points.

For dinner tonight I wanted to cook the Kabocha squash I’ve had in the cupboard for a week, but wanted to do something different with it. I always just bake it until it gets crispy, which is good but I felt like I needed to branch out. So I created a burrito recipe.

Lentil Kabocha Squash Baked Burritos

6 whole wheat tortillas

2 c Kabocha squash, cooked and diced

1/2 a medium zucchini, diced
1/2 c yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 c mushrooms, diced

1 19 oz can tomato sauce
1 tsp cumin
sea salt and pepper to taste

1 c Lentils, cooked

Extra sharp cheddar cheese, grated (goat cheese would work great in this)

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 F. Cut your Kabocha squash in thin slices and place on a greased (I greased mine with coconut oil) baking sheet. Bake for about 1 hour, flipping halfway through.
2) Put 1/2 c of dry lentils into a pot of 1 1/2 c of boiling water and cook for 25 minutes. I cooked 1 c of lentils so I have leftovers. Set aside once done.
3) Heat a frying pan on medium heat and sautee zucchini, onion, garlic, and mushrooms in coconut oil. Once lightly cooked add cumin, salt and pepper, and tomato sauce.
4) Once the squash on done cooking dice about a third of it (save the rest for lunch the next day!) and add it to the veggie and tomato sauce mixture along with a cup of cooked lentils.Stir it all together.
5) Spoon the squash and lentil mixture onto a whole wheat tortilla and sprinkle with cheese.Roll up and repeat with the rest. I only made 4 and then saved the rest of the filling for another meal later in the week, but this recipe should make 6 burritos.
6) Bake in a 350 F oven for 40 minutes.I really loved how the sweet Kabocha squash paired with the lentils and extra sharp cheddar cheese in these. They were really tasty and I didn’t even follow a recipe. Yay, I’m getting braver!I think tangy goat cheese would have been really good in these too. I didn’t feel like adding more veggies on the side because I had spinach in my smoothie, broccoli with hummus at lunch, and these bad boys are stuffed with veggies, so I rounded out my meal with a couple squares of dark chocolate. I am really loving the depth of the 90% cocoa dark chocolate. It’s not really sweet, but it’s so smooth and you can really taste the cocoa. Well it’s back to the grind tomorrow, but at least it’s only a 4 day week for me.

I need to quit thinking about what I wish I had and think more about what I do have and the possibilities that I have. Everything happens for a reason and I am exactly where I’m meant to be in life right now.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

