The weekend is here

Wow the weekend is here already! This week was so busy it just flew by. Gotta love that. This morning Jewel and I went for a great 7km run. It was warm out and there is hardly any traffic out at 6am compared to when I run after work. This makes for a more enjoyable run as Jewel stops every time a vehicle comes from behind. She doesn’t like loud noises at all. After our run and a quick stretch I whipped up a bowl of oatmeal.
This mix contains:

1/3 c rolled oats and spelt flakes
2/3 c almond milk
ripe banana, sliced thinly
cinnamon
1 spoon of Farro
2 spoons of cottage cheese, added in halfway through cooking
1 tbsp ground flax, added at end of cooking
big spoon of almond butter, drizzled on top

I had plans to take Jewel to the local pet store on my lunch break to get her nails trimmed. I have been trimming a little bit off, but they’re getting too long. I have made her yelp and bleed in the past and am too scared to hurt her again so now they’ve gotten too long.I phoned yesterday and the girl I spoke with said it costs $5 and you don’t need to make an appointment, you just walk in. I figured that sounded like a good deal, but when I got there today there were no groomers working. I was told there is usually one working everyday from 9am-3:30pm, but today both were off. So I will have to wait until Monday to take care of these.I don’t think she minds
After rushing to get there on my lunch break, I rushed back home to eat. I was starving and felt like my stomach was starting to eat itself.Leftover Yellow Dahl with plain yogurt, which doesn’t blend well when heated. I had packed up my lunch last night knowing I wouldn’t have much time so I put the yogurt in the same container as the Dahl. On the side I had 2 slices of whole wheat bread and raw broccoli and carrots.

I finally tried greek yogurt. One of my friends went to the city on Wednesday and picked up a container at Costco for me. I packed some with a couple of peanut butter hemp muffins, that I crumbled over top for my snack this afternoon. I thought it was pretty similar to plain yogurt, just not quite as tangy and a bit thicker. I’m a fan.

After my crazy busy afternoon at work I got in a quick strength training session before my massage. I was really looking forward to the massage, but during it I was wondering why. It was painful! I had knots in my calves, which I knew where there because they have been feeling tight, especially the left one. I think I walked out limping a bit because my left calf hurt. I rubbed some mint oil on it, my sister Ashtyn had given me, when I got home. My glutes and back were also really tight. I just had to breathe through it and grit my teeth. After the massage therapist had worked on my left glute she told me my left glute now looked flat and my right one looked swollen. She said she always finds it funny when she works on someone with tight glutes. I thought it sounded pretty funny. I told her to flatten my right glute too, so I didn’t look lop-sided. She told me she’d never worked on a runner that had a tighter back than their legs. I could tell my back was tight too, because it had been cramping up during certain poses in yoga and when I tried stretching it. We tried to figure out what I’ve done differently that would make my back so much tighter all of a sudden. I think it may be from Xtreme Burn. Guess I need to spend more time stretching. At least she rubbed mint oil all over my back.

Once I got home from my massage I made a quick dinner involving the last bit of veggies from the fridge. I lightly sauteed onion, garlic, asparagus, red cabbage, mushrooms, ans tomato in coconut oil. Then I added a crumbled black bean burger and goat cheese and served with organic blue corn chips. It was tasty. For a sweet snack I had a couple of dates stuffed with peanut butter. Mmmm, those bad boys are just like candy to me. Yay, I can’t wait to sleep in tomorrow…or should I say wake up without an alarm clock.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

