Chocolate Zucchini Cake Oatmeal and Yellow Dahl

Oh yes I did.You know I had to try it when I mentioned it last week.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake Oatmeal

1/3 c rolled oats and spelt flakes
2/3 c almond milk
cinnamon
1 tbsp carob powder/cocoa powder
ripe banana, sliced thinly
1 c zucchini, grated
approx. 2 tbsp cottage cheese

pecans, toasted

1) In a pot combine rolled oats, spelt flakes, cinnamon, carob powder, almond milk, banana, and zucchini over medium heat. Bring to a boil then reduce heat to medium-low cooking for 5 minutes. Stir quickly until banana is broken down and blended into oats.
2) Add cottage cheese and cook for another 5 minutes, stirring frequently.
3) While oats are cooking put pecans on a plate and toast in microwave for about 1 minute. You should be able to smell the nuts when you pull them out of the microwave.
4) Serve the oatmeal topped with the toasted pecans. Because I can’t eat my oatmeal without a nut/seed butter of some sort I also drizzled mine with tahini.I rather enjoyed it.

This next recipe is good too, just don’t burn it to the bottom of the pot like I did and it won’t have the burnt flavour mine does. Even with the burnt flavour I can tell it would be a favorite of mine.

Yellow Dahl

2 c yellow split peas
2 c vegetable broth
2 1/2 c water

1 c onion diced
1 c tomatoes, chopped
1 1/2 tsp turmeric
2 tsp garam masala
2 tsp coriander
1 1/2 tsp cumin
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp ginger, grated
1/4 c diced chilies

1) In a pot saute onion in coconut oil over medium heat.
2) Once onion is softened and becomes translucent add spices, garlic, ginger, and chilies. Cook 1 minutes stirring often.
3) Add yellow split peas, vegetable broth, and water. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and cover cooking for 1 hour. Add the diced tomatoes during the last 10-15 minutes of cooking. You can add more water if you would like the Dahl to be runnier. Serve on a whole grain or with whole wheat naan or pita bread.

This week is flying by and I’m already thinking about the weekend. Yoga was great tonight, we did more of a vinasa which really had me focusing on my breath. Next week I officially start my Sinister7 and marathon training. I’m excited to add in hill repeats and start increasing my long runs. I just love the whole process of training for something!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

