Cottage Cheese Spelt Pancakes

Yesterday during our 19km run one of the girls stated she had put in an order for buttermilk pancakes with her husband to be ready around 10:30am when she got back. This made me crave pancakes and not having a cook at home I decided to take matters into my own hands. I have been wanting to make cottage cheese pancakes for a while, but oatmeal always wins out. Yesterday though, felt like a perfect day for pancakes.

Cottage Cheese Spelt Pancakes

Adapted from Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet Cottage Cheese Pancakes

1 1/4 c spelt flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp organic crystalized sugar made from cane syrup
1 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp sea salt

8 egg whites
1 c 1% cottage cheese
1 c 1% plain yogurt

1) In a medium bowl mix flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Set aside.
2) In another bowl add egg whites and beat lightly. Mix in cottage cheese and yogurt.
3) Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined.
4) Cook on a pre-heated, greased electric frying pan, using about 1/4 for each pancake. Flip once bubbles appear on top.

This makes about 16 pancakes.

These were fluffy and slightly doughy with just a touch of sweetness. I absolutely loved them. I served them with toasted pecans, maple syrup, and defrosted mixed berries.
Be sure to re-grease the pan between each pancake because they stick. I froze the rest of the pancake goodness to enjoy during the week.

This morning I did have oatmeal.
Banana whipped oatmeal with wheat berries and cottage cheese, topped with almond butter and a crumbled Peanut Butter Hemp Mini Muffin.It was yummy.

Lunch was leftover yellow Dahl I had made for dinner last night with some Farro and a salad.
I was quite proud because I am getting more adventurous and creating recipes on my own, instead of always following a recipe. This one turned out good except for the minor fact that I didn’t add enough liquid at first and wasn’t watching it and it burnt to the bottom of the pan giving it a slight burnt flavour. I’m not one to waste food though, so I scooped out what I could, making sure not to scrape the burnt food off the bottom of the pot and transferred it to another pot adding more veggie broth. It worked. I will post the recipe soon.

Today has been beautiful. It got up to plus 8 C and the snow is melting. After work I had to get out and enjoy it so I took Jewel for a walk. Once back home I pulled out a slice of Ultimate Lentil Walnut Loaf from the freezer for dinner. I heated it up with the last of my brown and wild rice mix and paired it with some raw asparagus.
The Lentil Walnut loaf was just as good after being frozen, and I still have two more slices in the freezer to enjoy.

The best part of eating leftovers.Very little clean-up! I’m off to get ready for Extreme Burn, hope everyone’s had a great start to their week.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

