Peanut Butter Hemp Mini Muffins

First I just want to say my thoughts and prayers are with those affected by the earthquake in Japan and resulting tsunami’s.

This morning I baked my usual batch of granola bars, but decided to add cooked wheat berries to them. It added a delicious chewy texture to them.

I also baked mini muffins this morning.

Peanut Butter Hemp Mini Muffins

1 c + 1 tbsp skim milk
2 tbsp flaxmeal
1 tbsp lemon juice

1 1/4 c spelt flour
1 c rolled oats
1/2 c hemp flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 c natural peanut butter
1/4 c agave nectar
1 tbsp molasses
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp sea salt

1) Pre-heat oven to 325 F. Grease a mini muffin tin with coconut oil.
2) Mix milk, flaxmeal, and lemon juice and let sit 10 minutes.

3) Combine flour, oats, baking powder and soda in medium bowl. Set aside.

4)Mix peanut butter, agave nectar, molasses, vanilla and salt. Slowly add milk mixture, whisking so combined well.

5) Add milk and peanut butter mixture to dry ingredients and combine until moistened.

6) Spoon into greased mini muffin cups and bake 15-20 minutes.

Hot out of the oven.
Quality control These are good with just a touch of sweetness. The nutty hemp flour goes well with the peanut butter. I can totally see myself crumbling one of these over a bowl of hot oatmeal.

So I have been thinking a lot lately about my future. I’m struggling with making a decision of what to do. Right now I am looking at two options. One I go work abroad for a year. Two I register for the holistic nutritionist program with The Canadian School of Natural Nutrition. The program takes year to become a registered holistic nutritionist and it’s something that I am really interested in and passionate about. I am 26 years old and would like to have kids some day, so I want to be finished my schooling before then. I still want to travel, but maybe I could wait until after school and then hopefully I will have met someone by then who also wants to travel. I would move to Calgary to take the schooling and that would mean having better options for groceries and being closer to the mountains for running and hiking, which ar both big bonuses.
If you don’t know I am currently living with my dad and brother. It was great that I had somewhere to go when I left my fiance, but I am missing having a place of my own. I am a homebody as well and would love to have my own place to decorate and organize how I want. Also I have been trying not to think about it, but I don’t know how Jewel (my dog) would handle me leaving her for a year. I know I would miss her like crazy.
That being said I know if I worked abroad for a year it would be the adventure of a lifetime. It would be a learning experience and I would probably take back so much from it. Now would be the perfect time to do it as I’m single and have no kids. Why is it so hard to make these kind of decisions?
Either way I need to pay off my loan and credit card and save up, which is what I’m doing. I don’t have to make the decision right away, but I should make it soon. I am going to an open house at the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition in May and maybe it will help me make this decision.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

