Zucchini Loaf Oatmeal

This mornings spin class was the hardest yet. So when I got home I was feeling hungry. I had a quick shower then got to work making a bowl of oatmeal with a new addition.

Zucchini Loaf Oatmeal

1/3 c rolled oats
1/3 c skim milk
1/3 c water
1 ripe banana
1/2 c grated zucchini
cinnamon

Halfway through cooking I added 2 spoons of cottage cheese as well as a couple spoons of wheat berries, for the chew!
I topped it with almond butter and the other half of my square of dark chocolate from yesterday’s bowl.
You couldn’t even taste the zucchini. If I had walnuts on hand I would have also added some, because when I make zucchini loaf I put walnuts in it. You could also turn it into Chocolate Zucchini cake oatmeal by adding cocoa or carob powder. I bet that would taste good.
I love how I have already eaten a serving of veggies at breakfast with this.

Today felt like it should have been a friday, I am so ready for the weekend. By lunch I was starving again, my mid-morning apple did nothing to hold off my hunger. I quickly reheated some rice and Crispy Coconut tofu nuggets and served it with a mixture of hoisin sauce, bbq sauce and ketchup. I also had a spinach, tomato, and avocado salad on the side.
Lunch gave me energy to get through the afternoon that I had been lacking this morning.

I had a yummy snack of cottage cheese with pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, and stevia with Natures Path Optimum blueberry cinnamon cereal mixed in this afternoon. I had decided to do a quick 6km run after work and before my yoga class, because tomorrow I don’t think I’ll feel like running. I have a dentist appointment in the afternoon to get a filling fixed and they’re probably going to freeze my mouth. A friend also invited me over for dinner and to hang out and watch movies after work. So I thought I would be smart and get my run done today. I just hope my mouth isn’t too frozen to eat. My appointments at 3pm and dinner is at 6:30pm so I hope the freezing gone by then.
Anyways when I got home I changed quickly and took Jewel out for a quick 6km. I was back home in 34 minutes and realized my keys were no longer in my pocket. No one else was home either and wouldn’t be for another 1 hour and a half. Shoot. So I turned around and started retracing my steps. I had ran an out and back and figured they were going to be near the turn around point because that’s where Jewel went to the bath room and I pulled a bag out of my pocket. I assumed my keys fell out when I pulled the bag out to pick up her poop. After about 1/4km I started to get cold because I had sweat and it was windy, so I said screw it and started running again. It would take me an hour to walk there and back if I did drop my keys there. Sure enough they were on the ground in the snow just past where Jewel had stopped. I picked them up and ran all the way back getting home 10 minutes after yoga started. So my 6km run turned into about an 11.5km run and I missed yoga. What can you do.

Needless to say I was hangry again.
Black bean burger and one egg on a toasted whole wheat english muffin with kethcup and red cabbage and carrots on the side.

It was tasty, but I was still hungry a couple hours later, so I made a snack.
Whole wheat cinnamon raisin bagel with peanut butter and raspberry jam. It hit the spot. Tomorrow is friday! Yay! I have a haircut on my lunch break and I can’t wait. My do is gettin’ pretty shaggy.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

