Just Another Tuesday

This morning I started my day at 5:00am and took it my morning spin class. I must say that I won’t be taking this particular class again, because it’s not as good of a work out as the spin class at the gym. I figure if I’m paying I want to leave sweaty and feeling like I just worked hard. I’m not getting that. Maybe it’s because it’s in the morning rather than after work, although I can get good morning runs and strength training sessions in. After spin class I made one of the creamiest bowls of oatmeal I’ve had in a while. It was soooo good.

In the mix;
1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c skim milk
1 ripe banana
cinnamon, lots
2 spoons wheat berries (added great chew)
2 spoons of cottage cheese, stirred in halfway through cooking
big spoonful of almond butter drizzled on top

Is it sad that I am already looking forward to my bowl of oatmeal tomorrow? I am going to try incorporating sweet potato into it, like I saw on Oh She Glows. I can’t wait!

I have a ton of leftovers to choose from in the fridge, so for lunch today I finished off my salmon, making a salmon sandwich with red cabbage and leftover veggies from last night.

I had a date after for something sweet.

For my afternoon snack and pre-run fuel I packed up some cottage cheese mixed with pumpkin, cinnamon, and stevia with Natures Path Optimum Blueberry Cinnamon cereal to mix in.

This was really tasty! I also had a strawberry frozen bar one of the girls at worked picked up a box from M&M’s because the weather has finally warmed up and it was feelin’ like spring. They have chunks of real strawberries in them.

Because of the great weather I couldn’t wait to get out for a run after work. I zipped home, changed, and grabbed Jewel for a great 9km run. I start official training for Sinister7 in a couple of weeks and I will be adding hills and tempo’s to the mix. I’m excited to see how it will improve my strength and speed.

For dinner I ate leftovers from last nights dinner. Which included Crispy Coconut Tofu Nuggets (I got this off a blog, but can’t remember which one?) with sweet and spicy sauce and a mixture of brown and wild rice. I also made some steamed broccoli to round out the meal. It was tasty.

Here is the recipe for the tofu and sauce:

Crispy Coconut Tofu Nuggets

1 block firm tofu
1/4 c liquid egg substitute (or 2 egg whites)
1/2 c Panko breadcrumbs
1/4 c shredded coconut
zest from one lime (I didn’t have limes so I seasoned it with 1 tsp of Jamaican Jerk spice, which turned out good)
Sea salt and pepper, to taste

1) Slice tofu into 12 slices, then cut each slice into two triangles. Place on cutting board and cover with a couple layers of paper towel, then place a weighted dish or square baking dish on top to press out excess liquid.
2) Pre-heat oven to 375 F. Set a cooking rack on top of a baking sheet and spray with non stick spray.
3) Pour egg whites into a bowl. Mix breadcrumbs, coconut, and seasonings into another shallow bowl. Dip tofu in egg white then dredge in coconut mixture. Set on rack and bake 25-30 mins. turning halfway.

Apricot dipping sauce

Mix together apricot jam, honey, lime juice and tamari. I didn’t measure, so you’ll just have to taste and adjust amounts accordingly.

I am feeling sore from Xtreme Burn last night. Whatever we did it really worked my shoulders, lats, and upper back. Only two more classes left. It sure went fast. Tomorrow is hump day, that means where halfway through the week, yay!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food, Recipe, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Another Tuesday

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    Those coconut tofu nuggets look absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to try them! And I also think you get the blogger award for best looking oatmeal šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

