Guess what I did yesterday morning?

I need to quiet my mind. I want to take my dog out to the trails at Wilmore and walk in the bush with her so I can think, but it’s too cold and there’s too much snow. I really love being outdoors in the summer when the weather is tolerable. I find it so much easier to think. I may have spring fever, it’s March and it’s freezing cold out there. We’re having a cold snap in the -30’s. My mom and I had a talk on the weekend about quieting our minds and lately I have noticed I haven’t had time/made time to quiet mine. I find I can think better when I go for long drives too, with or without music. Maybe that’s what I need to do. What do you do to try to quiet your mind? Have you figured out how to or is this something you need to work on too?

Guess what I did yesterday morning?

That’s right! I signed up for another half marathon, The Run Wild Leading Edge Half Marathon in St. Albert on May 15th. It fits perfectly into my training for the Sinister7 and the Intact Canadian Derby Marathon in Edmonton (which I haven’t registered for yet, but will soon). I am super excited and am hoping to break 2 hours for this one. That is about 14 minutes off my previous time, but I won’t be running in snow, I will have lot’s of good training behind me including some 32km runs and hill repeats and I will be pushing harder. I broke 4 hours for a full marathon 4 years ago while running 5 days a week and not nourishing my body properly. Now I’m feeding my body properly, stretching more, doing yoga, running 3 days a week and cross training 2 days a week, strength training, and getting regular massages. I think it’s doable!

Recent EATS

Pumpkin oats with roasted carob powder topped with cashew butter, raspberry jam and coconut.

Leftover Quick and Easy Chana Masala on a bed of spinach.

Snackage

For dinner last night I made some Nut Butter Crusted Parsnip Fries

Sauteed red chard in coconut oil and seasoned with sea salt and pepper.

With a side of red quinoa.

It was a great dinner. Those fries are addicting. I have to package half the recipe up do I don’t eat them all in one sitting because I have been known to do that. Not that there’s anything wrong with that but it’s nice to have some leftovers to enjoy the next day.


That’s banana whipped oatmeal with cottage cheese and Farro drizzled with almond butter. Mmmmm, is all I have to say about that.


Romaine salad with carrots, red quinoa, goat cheese, nut butter crusted parsnip fries, and sauteed red chard.


Egg and avocado toasted sandwich.

I didn’t show you guys my pretty finishers medal from the hypothermic half marathon I did last Sunday.

Isn’t it pretty? I love anything with snowflakes on it.

I collect my bibs as well and write my times and rank on the back of them. I like to display them to remind me of my accomplishments.

I have a yoga class for runners tonight which should be good. I woke up feeling sore from extreme burn this morning. Yay tomorrow is already thursday, this week is going fast.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Half-Marathon, Racing, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

