Quick & Easy Chana Masala

I am feeling really good after my half marathon yesterday. Only my hamstrings a bit sore. This morning I was out of ripe banana’s, so I opened up a huge can of pumpkin to incorporate into my oatmeal.

This bowl consisted of:
1/3 c rolled oats
2/3 c skim milk
1/3-1/2 c pumpkin
apple, diced
2 spoons of cottage cheese

On top I drizzled almond butter and maple syrup and sprinkled with toasted walnuts. It was divine.

Lunch today involved leftover red quinoa with leftover sweet potato lentil chilli

And a large side salad topped with avocado.

I was craving indian food for dinner tonight and wanted to do something with the bag of yellow split peas I have in the cupboard. I couldn’t find a recipe that incorporated ingredients I had at home so I decided to save the split peas for another day and pulled out a can of chickpeas to throw together a quick Chana Masala.

Quick & Easy Chana Masala

1 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tsp coriander
1/2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 tsp curry powder
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 tsp grated ginger
2 cups chickpeas
28 oz can tomatoes

In a skillet heat coconut oil over medium heat, add the remaining ingredients and bring to a simmer. Cook 15 minutes stirring frequently. Keep lid off so liquid from tomatoes evaporates. Voila, quick and easy Chana Masala.

I served mine on top of cooked Farro topped with plain yogurt and a side of raw asparagus.

I checked the running room website and they had the clock times posted. So my official time was 2:13:55. Not real fast, but then I wasn’t pushing real hard. I know I can run faster in the spring and am hoping to run a sub 2:00 hour half. 4 years ago I ran a sub 4:00 hour full, so I think I should be able to do it. I’m excited to train for it. I love the process of training as much as I love the actual race day! Well I need to get to be because I’m up at 5:00am tomorrow for a spin class. Tonight I had extreme burn at 7:30 and It’s just too hard after that class to get to bed early enough to get 8 hours when you’re getting up at 5:00am. Oh well, I’ll catch up later in the week. Hope everyone had a great Monday.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Food, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick & Easy Chana Masala

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    That looks like a really great recipe! Quick and easy, just the way I like it!

Leave a Reply

