Is it spring yet?

It was -38 C this morning when I went to spin class. It’s almost March and it’s getting colder…what is going on here? Spin was a bit harder than Tuesdays class, but still not as good of a workout as the spin class I took at the gym. I am hoping the instructor will increase the intensity as we go.

I added something different to my bowl of oats this morning.

I think the spelt flakes might have made them extra creamy today.

In the mix I had
-rolled oats
-spelt flakes
-cinnamon
-skim milk
-ripe banana
-cottage cheese

On top I drizzled almond butter. This classic bowl of oatmeal never gets old.

For my morning snack I packed a juicy apple.

This morning flew by at work today and before you know it, it was time for lunch. I think I’m just going to make it through friday with enough veggies. For lunch I made a massaged kale salad with grapes, goat cheese, and pine nuts. On the side I had half a toasted bagel with olive oil margarine. Usually I eat my toast dry, but I had a craving for it so I went with it.

My lunch was a little low on protein so I packed cottage cheese with hemp seeds, a sprinkle of cereal and a drizzle of agave nectar for my afternoon snack. It was a good combo.

When I got home from work I had to whip up a quick dinner because I had a yoga class at 6pm, which I thought was at 6:30pm. So I cooked some red quinoa. While that cooked I stir-fried some broccoli, onion, and corn in virgin coconut oil. Once it was lightly cooked (I hate overcooked veggies, they should still be crispy) I added a chopped tomato, diced avocado, and the cooked quinoa.

It was nice and light and refreshing, perfect before yoga. I have read somewhere that you’re not suppose to eat right before yoga, but since the class went to 7:15pm and I was hungry to start with I knew I had to get something in my belly. I’m going to have to plan better next time.

After yoga I whipped up a couple batches of the chocolate chip cookie dough balls. I had one for a snack. These are so good, I love the combo of almond butter with dark chocolate and maple syrup.

Tonight when the instructor was explaining yoga to the class, she said that by the end we should start to notice little things, like when drinking a glass of water how it hydrates all our muscles and joints. She said too often people don’t listen to their bodies and realize what’s going on. With practicing yoga we will be able to pick up on things sooner and then be able to make the necessary changes to keep our bodies happy and healthy. I know I need to get better at this. I am looking forward to the benefits of practicing in a class to make sure I’m doing poses correctly, but also to learn more about yoga in general.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Exercise, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it spring yet?

  1. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    I just tried hemp seeds for the first time today on top of some baked squash, black beans, corn, tomatoes, avocado, cilantro, and nutritional yeast. They were delicious! I’m too shy to go to a yoga class, even though it was one of my goals for February…hopefully I can gather up the courage and go in the next few days!

    • That meal sounds delicious! I used to be too shy to go to classes too. A new friend convinced me to take a bootcamp class with her and I realized everyone’s busy concentrating on what they’re doing and not paying attention to me anyways. There are people of all ages, sizes, shapes and fitness levels in the classes I take and they’re all there for exercise, stress relief, or the social aspect of the class. I love classes now and even take them by myself. The hardest part is taking a step into the class the first day, but once you’re there you’ll probably be glad you went. Good luck, I think taking a yoga class is a great goal!

Leave a Reply

