Sprouting

Sprouts are packed with vitamins, minerals,chlorophyll, and enzymes. They are also a very high pH so they help alkalize the body. Last weekend I decided to try sprouting kidney beans. You need a glass jar, cheesecloth, an elastic band and about a quarter of your jars worth of dried beans or seeds/nuts. First you need to rinse off your beans. Place them in your glass jar and fill 3/4 full of water. Let them soak 12 hours to overnight depending on the size of bean/seed you are using. Rinse them well again and put back in the jar and cover it with cheesecloth, putting an elastic around the rim to keep it on. Rinse a few times a day making sure to drain well. This is what I saw a week later. A lot of the beans didn’t sprout which is an indication they’re dead and the enzymes have been destroyed. After doing some research I found out you shouldn’t sprout kidney beans because they’re toxic. They contain high levels of phytohemagglutinin, which will cause nausea, vomiting, diahrea, and other adverse health reactions. Good to know. I started soaking some Quinoa today and hopefully I’ll have better luck sprouting it. I whipped up Angela’s Pumpkin Gingerbread with Spiced Buttercream frosting for my friend’s birthday tonight. Only I made 1 1/2 the batter and put it into two round cake pans and tripled the frosting. At first I had only doubled the frosting, but it was only enough to fill the center and cover the top so I had to make another batch of it to coat the sides of the cake. You can find the recipe here. I’m not sure if I’ll get a picture of it once it’s cut, but if I do I’ll show you tomorrow. I’m off to get some laundry done before I head out, hope everyone had a wonderful Sunday.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

