Getting soft

I wimped out this morning and ran 14km on the treadmill.  -27 C just seemed too cold.  I think I’m getting soft…..or maybe I’m just sick of winter.

That’s what I posted on facebook this morning.  The girl I was supposed to run with texted me this morning and said it was too cold for her.  I waited until 11:00am and it was still -27 so I decided to run on the treadmill.  Just a month ago I ran 16km in -25 C plus wind chill, but I just couldn’t do it today.  I put my Ipod on and away I went.  FYI when the battery level on your Ipod is in the red area it will still last at least 1 hour and 24 minutes.  Of course I visualized myself running Sinister7 or the marathon and kicking butt. 

To fuel my run I had banana whipped oatmeal with cottage cheese and pumpkin topped with almond butter, toasted walnuts and maple syrup.


Since I’d eaten breakfast at 7:30am this morning and I didn’t run until 11:00am I had a homemade Apple cinnamon energy bar half an hour before my run as I was starting to get hungry. After my wonderously sweaty run I had to rush to get to the baby shower on time. I made a quick lunch of a salad with sun-dried tomato and olive hummus and a fluffy, doughy flax pita.

I had been told that the parents wanted some early educational toys for their baby girl. We have a new store in town that’s called “Good Times” and all it has is educational toys. So I picked up a gift there that I hope baby will like.

I had fun at the baby shower talking about babies, running, pregnancy, dogs, training, giving birth, and races. We played some games and I ended up winning two prizes! I won a scrub for you hands and a shower gel and lotion duo. I stayed and visited until 6:30pm so by the time I got home I was starving again. There were snacks at the shower which I had a plateful of when I first arrived but then I held baby for the most part.
Dinner was a quick egg bagel and stir fried bok choy, mushrooms, and onion.

I was still hungry so I had a homemade granola bar straight from the freezer, then took my fur child for a walk. It has cooled off again. It actually got up to -11 C today, I couldn’t believe the difference in temperatures.
I need to find a good cake recipe! A friend is having a party for her 29th birthday tomorrow and I offered to bake a cake. I’m thinking something chocolate.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

