A Love Letter to Myself


A few days ago I wrote a post on self-love and that women/girls should do something nice for themself on Valentines day. To be honest I was having trouble coming up with something. After reading Angela’s beautiful post this morning on self-love I knew I had to write a love letter to myself.

Dear Richelle,

I just wanted to tell you that I love you. I love you for who you are on the inside as a person and for who you are on the outside. You’re a kind, caring, and fun person. You’re intelligent and strong and beautiful. Thank you for trusting me and listening to me. Thank you for realizing you didn’t want to keep living like you where with an eating disorder. That you didn’t want to have this problem when you have kids in the future. I love you for being brave and seeking help to start your recovery process. We were in a dark place for a while and you dug within yourself and pulled us out and I am forever grateful for that.

Thank you for feeding me wholesome, nourishing food and not depriving me anymore. For letting me indulge when I wanted to and enjoy my favorites like chocolate without cutting me down after and feeling guilty. Thank you for being active for my health and mind, not to burn calories. As you’ve learned exercise is much more fun when you do it for the right reasons. Especially when you’re nourishing me accordingly too. I appreciate that you let me rest when I need to as well, and not feel guilty. This has made me stronger.

Thank you for stopping those negative voices that want to tell you you’re fat, ugly and not good enough. I feel so much better now that you don’t compare me to others because you’ve learned everyone is different. Thank you for opening up and believing in me, and realizing I can do anything I want to. We’ve been through a lot together and I’ve seen you grow as a person. You have gained confidence in yourself and even though I know you have to work hard at it, you’re doing great. You got out of a relationship you stayed in far too long because you didn’t have the confidence to leave. Even from the start I think you knew in the back of your mind it wasn’t right. Now that you’re a stronger more confident person you’ll be able to say no. Now that you trust me, we will be able to make decisions without fearing the future or that we’ll be alone. I love you and keep taking care of yourself.

Love, Richelle

I encourage everyone to write a love letter to themselves. I will write more about my ED in future posts.

Of course I also needed to be nice to my belly and feed it some chocolate this morning.

Extra dark chocolate on top of banana whipped oatmeal with roasted carob powder, cinnamon, cottage cheese, and chia seeds. Along with the chocolate on top I drizzled cashew butter and brown rice syrup and sprinkled coconut. It was everything a girl could ask for on Valentine’s morning…or any morning for that matter.

Happy Valentines Day!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Love Letter to Myself

  1. Jane says:

    Beautifully said. Truth, light, joy, power,and love are what your life is representing and is offered for anyone who reads your blog. Keep shining bright light, you never know who will be inspired by your incredible journey. Thank you

  2. Alex @ Healing Beauty says:

    That is such a beautiful letter. I really could identify with a lot of what you said, but I am happy for you that you are in recovery. Keep going! What a beautiful blog you have!

Leave a Reply

