Pumpkin steel cut oat groats & Olive and sun-dried tomato hummus

This morning I made steelcut oat groats for breakfast and I think this is the first time I have cooked these without burning the bottom of the pot. The bag says to simmer for 40 minutes, but ti never takes that long to cook them. It actually took 12-20 minutes, leaving them with a bit of chew. I added pumpkin, half a diced apple, cottage cheese, and chia seeds. On top I drizzled hazelnut butter, cashew butter, and maple syrup.

I love how pumpkin adds so much volume to oats.

Steelcut oat groats were good for a change, I love how they are chewier than regular oats.

After breakfast I made a batch of granola bars.

While my granola bars cooled I did 40 minutes of wonderful yoga. I can feel myself getting more flexible now that I have been doing yoga regularly again. After yoga I did boring housework. To make it fun I turned on some good tunes and got to work vacuuming, cleaning the bathrooms and floors in the bathrooms, and dishes. I was getting looks from this little girl.

She wanted to go out into the sunshine and play. I took her to a field across from our house and played fetch for awhile….or tried to play fetch I should say. She doesn’t quite get the concept. Sometimes she will bring the ball partway back to me, other times she runs to chase it then when it lands she leaves it there and comes back to me, and other times yet she’ll pick it up and run in another direction away from me. She’ll also drop down next to the ball and just chew on it. It’s so funny. Today she did bring the ball back to me once and put it in my hands, so I’ll consider that progress. After Jewel had enough of fetch I took her for a walk to try and burn the rest of her energy. It may have worked because she’s passed out next to me on the floor beside her bed.

For lunch I had leftover kidney beans I needed to use up so I whipped up some hummus.

Olive and Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

*Adapted from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan

2 cups kidney beans
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp natural peanut butter
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 medium clove of garlic, minced
1/4 c kalamata olives
1 tbsp sun-dried tomato and herb mix
freshly ground black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a food processor or mini food chopper until smooth. There will be some chunks of olives left.

I wasn’t sure how this was going to turn out, but I really liked it. I had some on a big salad with a flax pita on the side for lunch.

This afternoon I made the Fitnessista’s Chocolate chip protein ballz. Mine turned out slightly green because my protein powder contains green pea protein. They still tasted amazing though.

I will definitely be making these more often. I had one as well as a bowl of yogurt and a kiwi for a snack this afternoon.

Now I’m off to iron and fold mounds of laundry. I hope your Sunday is going well.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

