No sleeping in here

This morning I woke up at 6am, no sleeping in for this girl. Maybe tomorrow. I had a 20 km run planned with some friends at 10am so I had plenty of time to prepare. Breakfast was wonderful, comforting oatmeal. I broke out this to change it up a bit.

Creamy, sweet cashew butter. I made banana whipped oatmeal with skim milk and added cottage cheese halfway through cooking. Chia seeds were stirred in at the end with a generous blob of cashew butter on top.

Because breakfast had been so early I had an apple cinnamon energy bar an hour before our run straight out of the freezer.

We did 20.22km in 2 hours and 5 minutes. The weather was perfect at 0 degrees celsius and no wind. My legs where sore today, actually they’ve been sore all week. I put them through hell this past week and they were complaining today. I had extreme burn on Monday, run & spin on Tuesday, circuit workout on Wednesday, ran hills & spin on Thursday and Friday was a much needed rest day. Next week I have a break from spin until my morning class starts, so I will swim instead. I found running and spin on the same days to be hard. So I am going to do them on opposite days when my next spin class starts.

As soon as I got home I made a smoothie with skim milk, 1/4 scoop of protein powder, frozen berries, spinach, carob powder, and stevia.

It was chocolatey. I drank my smoothie while I did some serious stretching. My legs felt better just after stretching, but I didn’t stop there. I didn’t have any ice or I would have had an ice bath, but instead at the end of my shower I turned the cold water on full blast and let it run on my legs. I forced myself to keep them under the cold water for a minute. I find even this makes a difference in decreasing inflammation. After I showered and dressed my stomach was ready for some solid food. Leftovers it was.

Whole wheat spaghetti topped with kidney beans, celery, carrots, mushrooms, onion, tomato sauce, and black olives.

Massaged kale and mango salad.

This afternoon I went grocery shopping and picked up some bagels that were 50% off because their best before date was today. I always look for reduce bread because it’s still good and I freeze all my bread anyway. I also look for the reduced produce, most of the time it’s good too. It’s a great way to save some money!

My afternoon snack consisted of a bagel smothered in creamy almond butter. Delicious comfort food.

Nothing tops dinner though. I made Angela’s Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf.
It took me over two hours to make, but it was absolutely worth the time and effort.

The lentils are cooked in vegetable broth making them very flavorful. I loved the crunch of the walnuts and sweetness of the raisins and apple in this. The sweet glaze on top just made it that much more better. I am so glad I have seven more pieces of this loaf to savour over the next couple of weeks! On the side I made my favorite squash, Kabocha squash.

Now I’m off to make a snack as my stomach is hungry again.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

