Circuit routine

**I wrote part of this post last night and then I had technology fail on me and my internet went down. Magically part of the post was saved.

I made up a killer circuit routine last night to do when I got home today. It had my muscles burning and the sweat dripping. But first I started my day with 20 minutes of yoga and it felt wonderful! For breakfast I made oatmeal. How many times have you heard me say that now?

That is 1/3 c rolled oats, 2/3 c almond milk, and cinnamon. I stirred in 1 tbsp of chia seeds when it was finished cooking and topped with almond butter and choco-cado pudding. I made some choco-cado pudding last night when I was craving chocolate but sadly the budget did not allow for any this week. The choco-cado pudding definitely hit the spot and I think I had originally found this recipe off of http://ohsheglows.com/. It has an avocado, almond butter, agave nectar, coconut oil, vanilla, and carob powder. It might even be better than regular chocolate….maybe.

Here are the measurements:

Choco-cado pudding

1 medium avocado
1/4c almond butter
1/4- 1/2c agave nectar
1 tbsp coconut butter
1tsp vanilla
1 tbsp carob powder

Add all ingredients to a food processor (or mini chopper like me) and blend until smooth.

Mmmm, it’s so good. It’s chocolatey with a hint of almond butter and oh so creamy. Major foodgasm.

Lunch

Leftover sweet potato chilli with avocado and Franks buffalo hot sauce and a salad.

After work I headed down to the basement for a sweat session. I must tell you I am feeling sore from this circuit workout, especially my obliques.

Circuit Workout

warm up- arm swings, toe touches, jumping jacks

1)1 legged squat with curl- 30 seconds/side
-standing on your right leg with a dumbbell in your right hand, squat down keeping your knee behind your toes (will be a shallow squat) and curl the dumbbell up at the same time. Switch sides.
2) Renegade row- 1 minute
– get into plank position with arms straight holding onto dumbbells. Lift right weight up in a back row keeping back straight and engaging your core, lower down and repeat on other side.
3) Jump squats- 1 minute
-Get into a squat position and jump up off the ground, landing lightly and squatting back down, repeat.
4) Tricep dips- 30 secs
5) Hamstring curl on exercise ball- 1 minute
-On your back put your feet on an exercise ball and lift your pelvis off the floor so you’re in a bridge position. Pull the ball towards your buttocks, bending your knees and squeezing your hamstrings. Straighten and repeat.
6) Mountain climbers- 1 minute
7) UFC’s-30 seconds
-Get into squat position holding weights above shoulders, elbows at 90 degrees. lower down onto knees one leg at a time keeping arms still in position. Raise back up into squat and repeat.
8) 1 legged calf raise- 30 seconds/side
– Use a step and lower right down.
9) Burpees- 1 minute
10) Side plank dips- 30 seconds/side
-Get into side plank position on your elbows, lower your hips towards the floor then raise back up and repeat.
11) Side leg lifts- 30 seconds/side
– Lying on your side lift the top leg up leading with the heel, lower back down and repeat.
12)Push ups with feet on exercise ball- 30 seconds.
13)High Knees, Butt kicks- 30 seconds each.

Go through circuit 2-3 times and prepare to sweat. Turn on some good music that pumps you up and just do it!

After my workout I needed to refuel, so I made a quick dinner.

Stir fried veggies, 2 eggs, and a flax pita.

The egg went well in the pita.

This morning I started my day running hills with Jewel and a few other gals. Two of us only did 5 hill repeats, then ran a loop while the other two finished off their set of 8. My legs were still talking to me from Extreme Burn and probably spin and my circuit workout. It twas a good run though and nice and warm again this morning. Breakfast had to be quicker than oatmeal so I pulled out some leftover Apple, cinnamon, hazelnut pancakes from the freezer.

I spread hazelnut butter on top and drizzled some on some of this

My mom bought me this from B.C. I also had a banana on the side for fruit.

Lunch was inspired from http://www.katheats.com/ smoothie in a bowl.

In the smoothie I have two big handfuls of spinach, almond milk, water, Vega protein powder, avocado, mixed frozen berries, raw rolled oats, and chia seeds. On top I sprinkled some cereal. It was really tasty and hit the spot.

After work I went to spin and did my last evening class. I have a week off and then I start a morning one. Dinner tonight was quick again. I stir fried onion, celery, mushrooms, and carrots in some coconut oil. Then I added tomato sauce, black olives, and kidney beans. I served it on top of whole wheat spaghetti with red cabbage on the side.

It turned out really tasty. I have been loving raw cabbage lately, it has a natural sweetness to it. For dessert I finished off my choco-cado pudding.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

