Coconut oil

Did you know olive oil is bad for your health when heated on high heat, above 200-250 degrees farenheit? I didn’t until I read Thrive. Coconut oil on the other hand can be heated on high heat without turning into trans fats. Coconut oil is full of a unique form of saturated fat called medium-chain triglycerides (MCT). MCTs are converted into energy effortlessly by the liver shortly after being consumed. MCTs are easier on the pancreas, liver, and digestive system.

Coconut oil has a mild coconut flavour that disappears when heated. You can use coconut oil for many things:
-stir frying
-butter/margarine replacement in baking
-oatmeal topper
-moisturizer
-massaged kale salad
-greasing muffin/cake/cookie pans
The list goes on

One of my favorite exercise classes started up last night called Extreme Burn. It’s an indoor bootcamp style class that changes every week. I am feeling a bit sore today in my abs, back, lats, shoulders, and hamstrings. My quads and glutes were also burning in spin tonight, heck I think pretty much every muscle is feelin it. Here are some pictures of my recent eats.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut oil

  1. I knew olive oil wasn’t for high temps but had no idea it turned to trans fat?! I haven’t used my coconut oil yet. I did substitute 1/2 the butter in a scone recipe with coconut oil, and it worked out okay. I really want to try it as a moisturizer, especially for my baby. Did you know it is a very effective diaper rash cream?

    • I know I used to cook and bake with it all the time at high temps. Now I only use it to drizzle over my food after it’s cooked. I did not know coconut oil is an effective diaper cream. I will have to remember that when I have kids! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

