Vegetable and goat cheese calzones and cupcakes

I’ll start with the cupcakes. I made a quick trip into the city (Edmonton) today to hang with two of my best friends, my sisters Brittany and Ashtyn.

When lunch rolled around we started getting hungry, are options were;
1) Share a large piece of chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream from the Cheesecake cafe (my idea!)
2) Eat lunch at home (I had packed a lunch) then go split a desert together
3) Share appetizer’s and a desert.

We ended up going with option 3. We headed to Whyte Ave and decided on Julios Bario for mexican. We ordered a mixed platter, that came with guacamole, salsa, chips, jalapeno pepper poppers, some kin of pastry with a salmon cream cheese and another one with tuna in it. Personally I liked the chips and salsa the best. The other food was obviously not made at the restaurant and previously frozen. My sister Brittany ended up having a hair in her jalapeno pepper popper. she told our waiter and the manager took care of the bill so at least we didn’t have to pay for it. We did leave a $10 tip, even though our waiter wasn’t very on the ball.

After the appetizers we headed over to Flirt Cupcakes for a sweet treat. The guy inside told us he had just pulled some cupcakes hot out of the oven and that we could have whatever kind we wanted. Being the chocoholic I am I went with the Ghiradelli Chocolate, Brittany went for a brown sugar cupcake with cream cheese icing and Ashtyn went for a chocolate cupcake with cream cheese icing. They had cute names but I can’t remember them.

Funny story, Ashtyn laughed at me when I was finished eating my cupcake and said my lips were pink.
I looked at her puzzled and said, “pink?”
Brittany said, “from the sprinkles on your cupcake.”
I responded with, “I didn’t have sprinkles on my cupcake.”

Evidently from the picture above I had pink sprinkles on my cupcake. I must have inhaled that warm, gooey, chocolatey goodness and not noticed. Oops.

Anyways, on to the Calzone recipe.

Vegetable and goat cheese Calzones

CRUST
1 3/4 c Spelt flour
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

2/3 c buttermilk
2 tbsp canola oil
1 tbsp fancy molasses

FILLING
1/2 c cooked Farro (could use any grain)
1/2 c tomato sauce
1 small zucchini, sliced
1/4 onion, diced
6 mushrooms, sliced
1/3 c black olives, sliced
1/3-1/2 c goat cheese, crumbled
1-2 tbsp Sundried tomato and herb seasoning (any mix of herbs would work)

CRUST
Mix dry ingredients in a bowl, make a well in center.
Combine wet ingredients in a small bowl and add to well. Stir until soft dough forms.
Turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead 8 times.

FILLING
Soften onion, zucchini, and mushrooms in a skillet with a bit of coconut oil. Add Sundried tomato and herb seasoning once cooked.

Divide dough into 4 equal portions. Shape into balls and roll one out at a time to form an 8 inch diameter circle. Put 2 tbps of tomato sauce on half of circle, top with 1/4 of the vegetable mixture, 2 tbsp of Farro, olives and goat cheese. Fold dough in half over filling. Press edges to seal and carefully transfer to a greased baking sheet. Repeat with remaining dough. Cut 2-3 small slits in top of each calzone to allow steam to escape. Bake in a 425 degree oven for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Going in the oven

Coming out of the oven

The insides

Mmmmm

This crust is slightly sweet, a little crumbly, and not greasy at all. Be creative and fill these with whatever you like.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

