Sinister 7 here I come!

7 Stages of determination
27 hours of grit
148 km of exhilaration
1 goal

I have decided to join a group that has been looking for another runner to join their Sinister 7 team. The race is held in Blairmore July 9-10th. I am doing leg 3.

Leg 3 – Willoughby Ridge
Distance: 35km
Elevation Gain: 1,327m
Elevation Loss: 1,327m
Difficulty: 7/7
Trail Type: Gravel road, double track, single track
Estimated Time: 3 to 5 hours
Must start by: 13:00 hrs (Saturday)
Cutoff: 19:00 hrs (Saturday)
This leg of the Sinister 7 has the most elevation gain and the longest distance. In return, you are rewarded with stunning views of the mountains atop the Continental Divide! This leg crosses through the haunting remains of the 2003 Lost Creek fire where one feels as though they are on another planet. After passing the burn scar, runners once again climb back into Blairmore for the start of leg 4. A new section of trail opened in 2010, which will use starting in 2011. This adds approximately 1.5km and 90m elevation over previous years but it keeps runners off the gravel road that was used in the past.

I am so pumped right now I can hardly contain myself! I decided last night that I am going to put the triathlon on hold to do the Sinister 7. Running is my passion and I wasn’t looking forward to doing the bike portion of the triathlon on a mountain bike.

I am going to do everything I can to make sure I don’t injure myself. My plan is to run 3 days a week, I day long, 1 day hills, and the third day will either be tempo’s, intervals, or easy runs. I am going to cross-train 2 days a week. I think I will focus more on spin classes as it’s more of an intense workout than swimming. I think it will also help more with the hills I need to prepare for. I am also going to strength train 3 times a week and focus on strengthening my core and making sure I don’t have any imbalances. I will also be doing yoga 3 times a week to help me stretch out my stiff hips. Of course I will be doing lot’s of stretching especially for my tight quads and glutes. I will be getting regular monthly massages, focus on getting enough sleep and eating healthy whole foods. I have been reading Thrive and he really stresses how important nutrition is on recovery after hard workouts. Above all I will listen to my body and if it needs a break I will take it. I am also tentatively planning on doing the Intact Canadian Derby marathon in Edmonton on August 22nd. So I will need to plan for a recovery after the Sinister 7 and then a build up again. I’m so ecstatic right now.

Tomorrow I am meeting some girls for a long run, were doing 21km. I am hoping the forecast is wrong and we won’t get 10-15 cm of snow overnight and there won’t be winds gusting from 30-80km/hr in the morning. Fingers are crossed!

P.S. Sorry, no pictures of food today!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

