Summer salad and pesto fail

Last night I went to a friend’s house for a karaoke and games night. We had a blast and my face still hurt this morning from laughing so much! Okay it didn’t still hurt, but you get the point. This morning I got up and made classic banana whipped oats, then after I digested I did 40 minutes of yoga. It was wonderous. I have been on a salad kick lately and they’re reminding me of summer. Today was no different with a spinach, strawberry, and goat cheese salad with walnuts, avocado, and balsamic vinegar.

On the side I had a leftover mixed bean burger on toasted sprouted wheat bread with ketchup. It was just as good after a couple of days in the fridge.

This salad has to be one of my favorite combinations. I love the taste of the sweet strawberries with the creamy, tangy goat cheese and crunchy, nutty walnuts. So good!

After lunch I had a visit with my grandma and she had to teach me how to play the card game Mean again. She has to go over the rules every time to refresh my memory. She usually always beats me too as she did today.
I made a beautiful pesto for dinner tonight, but it ended up not working out in the end so I didn’t take any pictures. The recipe said to heat it in the microwave for 2-3 minutes after it was all processed together. I heated it for 2 minutes and the parmesan cheese in it melted and hardened into clumps. Next time I will not heat it and just stir it into my pasta. I did still mix it into my pasta as best I could, but it wasn’t worthy of the blog. I will try it again when I get more fresh basil and then post it. The flavour was great and the color a beautiful vibrant green. I’m off to bed early tonight, time to pack up my swimming gear for tomorrow.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

