Spelt Apple Cinnamon Hazelnut Pancakes

I was up bright and early for a saturday and had a 10km run planned at 9am with a friend, so I decided to make pancakes for breakfast. I used to make pancakes every weekend, but stopped. I thought it was about time I make them again. These are adapted from “eat, drink, & be vegan’s” Hazelnut-Pear pancakes.

Spelt Apple Cinnamon Hazelnut Pancakes

1 1/8 c spelt flour
2 1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 hazelnut butter
1 1/2 c milk
1 tsp canola oil
1 small gala apple, peeled and diced

1) Blend hazelnut butter and 3 tbsp of milk in magic bullet (blender). Once blended add the rest of the milk and blend.
2) Sift spelt flour and baking powder, add to blender with cinnamon and canola oil. Blend just enough to mix and stir in apple.
3) Heat a pan on med-high heat coat lightly with canola oil. Lower to medium heat and pour batter onto pan to make pancakes.
4) Cook until until bubbles form on top of pancake for a few minutes then flip and cook other side.

I topped mine with strawberries, a drizzle of hazelnut butter and maple syrup and sprinkled with coconut.

This was so good for a change, but still didn’t beat my oatmeal bowls.


I popped the leftovers in the freezer, so I can toast them during the week for a quick breakfast.

Today I have been a domestic goddess. I have the house to myself, I love it when that happens on weekends! I have done laundry, dishes, made granola bars and apple cinnamon energy bars out of Brendan Brazier’s “The Thrive Diet” book. They have dates, almonds, flax, cinnamon, nutmeg, quinoa, an apple, spelt flour and protein powder (a mixture of hemp, pea, and spirulina). They taste just like apple cinnamon!


This morning I ran with my first running friend. Love this girl, she was so supportive of me when I was injured and took a year off running. Today we decided that in two years we are going to do a 50km Ultra and we gave ourselves a timeline of 10 years to get in a 100km and 100 miler in. This year is the full marathon. She hasn’t run one yet and is pretty excited. She’s signed up for one in the middle of May. I am holding off until August as I am doing an olympic triathlon in the beggining of June and I think that would be too much. I need to focus on one thing at a time. This way I also get to do my long runs in better weather!! I love running and thinking about racing. I love pushing myself and seeing how far or fast I can run in races. Talk about endorphins. During a race the adrenaline is pumping and I’m able to push myself that much harder. I’m pumped as you can tell.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

