New Grain

I woke up this morning at 6am, but forced myself to go back to sleep and ended up sleeping until 8:45am. It felt great to sleep in. I started my day as usual with green tea and a splash of lemon juice. Then for breakfast made carob oatmeal with hazelnut butter and raspberry jam. It was amazing.

After digesting I did 40 minutes of yoga using this DVD.

I like the matrix because you can build your own practise with the options it gives you.

I had a hard time quieting my mind today. Sometimes it feels so relaxing doing yoga and other times my mind keeps veering off thinking of other things. I need to work on this.

I also need to work on this, can’t do it yet.

For lunch I had a massive salad, which included mixed greens, red pepper, avocado, black beans, grapes, and a drizzle of EVOO and balsamic vinegar. On the side I had a flax pita. I purchased these at Costco yesterday, they are smaller in diameter but thicker making them doughy.

After lunch I took Jewel for a short walk. It was incredibly windy out and warm, so the snow was melting and the roads were muddy and wet. It felt like spring. How cruel, considering we still have two good solid months of winter until we start to get real spring weather.

This afternoon I made peanut sesame hummus for the week in my magic bullet.

I got the recipe out of this cookbook.

I ruined my appetite for supper making this hummus, because I had to open a new jar of peanut butter. I store my nut butters upside down until I open them because I find it easier to mix them with all the oil at the bottom of the jar. This was a crunchy peanut butter I opened and all the chunks of peanuts were at the top, so I had a few spoonfuls. What, you don’t do that? Anyway I wanted something light for supper and decided to try out this new purchase I also got at Costco.

I have never tried Farro before. I researched it and found that it has twice the fiber and protein of modern wheat. It’s different than some whole grains in that it contains a carbohydrate called cyanogenic glucosides. which has been found to stimulate the immune system, lower cholesterol and help maintain blood sugar levels. Farro contains gluten, but the gluten molecules are weaker than modern wheat, making it more easily digested. Here are the nutritional stats for 1/2 c of Farro:

170 calories
1.5 g of fat
0 g saturated fat
0 mg of sodium
34 g of carbohydrates
5 g of dietary fiber
2 mg of iron
6 g of protein
4 mg of niacin
60 mg of magnesium
2 mg zinc
Farro is rich in antioxidants, phytonutrients, lignans and betaine. Betaine, when combined with choline, has been shown to prevent or reduce stress-included inflammation.

It was chewy and reminded me of wheat berries, but with a nuttier flavour. I really liked it. In a bowl I tossed chopped asparagus, grape tomatoes, cauliflower, and onion. I added the Farro and edamame and drizzled with EVOO and lemon juice. It was light and refreshing, glad I have leftovers for tomorrow.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

