Eggplant curry

I started my day with a wonderful 40 minute swim. I did 70 laps and had the whole pool to myself. I always have trouble getting up for my swims because it’s cold out and not tempting to get into cold water. Once I do though I feel great and the water actually isn’t cold. I am feeling so good after my 16km run yesterday. I have been struggling with SI joint pain and sciatica because my quads are really tight and my hamstrings are really flexible. This was causing my pelvis to tilt forward. I have been stretching my quads three times a day and strengthening my hamstrings as well as my glutes and core a few times a week. I had a physio assess me and she told me my glutes and core were also weak. And I thought I had buns of steel, lol! Anyways I am thrilled that everything is feeling good right now.

Last night I made a really good eggplant curry. I have been trying to make sure I buy every color of produce when I grocery shop. Last weekend I wanted to buy beets, but they were all soft. Instead I ended up getting an eggplant for my purple veggie.

Eggplant Curry

1 large eggplant
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp cumin powder
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
1 tbsp fresh ginger, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp garam marsala
1 tomato, diced
1/2 c plain yogurt
1/2 fresh jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
1 tsp sea salt

1) Preheat oven to 450 F
2) Cut eggplant in half and place on a baking sheet. Bake 20-30 mins. in the preheated oven, until tender. Remove from heat, cool, and chop.
3) Heat oil in medium saucepan over medium heat. Mix in cumin and onion. Cook and stir until onion is tender.
4) Mic ginger, garlic, garam marsala and tomato into saucepan, and cook about 1 minute. Stir in yogurt. Mix in eggplant, jalapeno and season with salt. Cover and cook 10 minutes, then remove cover and reduce heat to low, continue cooking 5 mins.

I served mine over a mixture of brown and wild rice. It was good, spicy and a bit tangy because of the yogurt.

I also enjoyed a glass of one of my favorite reds, Pinot noir.

This meal was so good I ended up having it again for lunch today. That is without the wine of course, I saved that for tonight.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

