Saturday

Look at how much snow we have, it’s insane!

This morning I started my day with a bowl of my addiction, banana whipped oatmeal. In the mix I had oats, milk, chia seeds, almond butter and raspberry jam.

I can’t help but every time I eat oatmeal with melty almond butter or any nut butter for that matter I make noises like “mmmm” and say things like “this is soooo good.” There are worse things I could be addicted to right? After breakfast I made a batch of granola bars. I got this recipe off of http://eatliverun.com/.

Granola Bars
1/2 c brown rice syrup
1/4 natural peanut butter (I used chunky)
1 1/2 c rolled oats
1/4 c ground flax
pinch of sea salt
3/4 c unsweetened coconut
1/4 hemp seeds
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (I use lot’s, probably more like 1 tbsp)
a big handful of pumpkin seeds

Mix everything but the brown rice syrup and peanut butter in a bowl.

Next measure the brown rice syrup and peanut butter in a small pot and heat just until it starts to boil.


Pour brown rice syrup and peanut butter over the oat mixture and mix well. Press into a 9 inch square pan lined with parchment paper. To get it smooth I wet my hands and then press the mixture flat, otherwise it will stick to your hands.

Next you pop it in the freezer for 20 minutes to harden. after 20 minutes cut into 10 bars and you can either wrap them as is and store in the freezer or bake 12-15 minutes at 300 degrees farenheit. Today I didn’t bake them. I love this recipe because you can change-up the ingredients and it’s so quick and easy. I always have a batch in the freezer.

After running around all morning doing laundry, cleaning bathrooms, and vacuuming I was getting hungry for lunch. I was craving veggies so I made a massive salad.

Into I bowl I tossed red cabbage, carrots, cauliflower, avocado, chickpeas, and a diced apple. I drizzled a bit of balsamic vinegar on top and ate it with a side of sprouted wheat toast. It was filling and tasty.

After lunch I did some running around town and picked up some groceries and a bottle of red to have with supper.

I really liked this wine. I don’t know much about wine and would love to do a wine tour some day. This wasn’t sweet but not real dry either. It was a bit fruity and light. It’s also from another place I want to visit!

For supper I baked sweet potatoes, which I had chopped up and tossed with some canola oil, paprika, thyme, red chillies, and cinnamon. Very tasty! I also made breaded tofu by dipping slices in egg white then rolling in a mixture of panko bread crumbs and chinese 5 spice. For greens I had steamed brocoli.

Now I need to take this cute face out for a walk and then do some yoga.

I love those ears, they never cease to make me laugh.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saturday

  1. Meesh says:

    Your dog is so cute! And that salad looks great, I always put apple in my salads too 🙂

Leave a Reply

