I get high on endorphins!

To get ready for the triathlon I want to do in June each week I am swimming 2x, running 3x, and taking spin classes 2x as well as my usual strength training 3x and yoga 1-2x a week. This morning I went for a lovely swim and after work I went to a spin class. I love the endorphins I get from the class. It’s hard and my quads burn until I don’t think I can pedal anymore but push through it. By the end I’m dripping with sweat and riding high. I love intense classes like this and endurance activities. They make me high! I am excited for my 16km run this weekend.

For supper tonight I whipped up a quick concoction as soon as I stepped in the door. It involved tomatoes, which I cut into chunks and roasted with olive oil and arribiata spice and these

I mixed the pasta, chickpeas, and tomatoes together and sprinkled with nutritional yeast. If you don’t know nutritional yeast in inactive and has a cheesy, nutty flavour. It is the only reliable food source of vitamin B12 and has 9 grams of complete protein per 2 tablespoons! On the side I made kale chips.

I washed them and ripped them into bite size pieces, then dried them well with paper towel. I spread them on a baking sheet and spritzed with EVOO, sprinkle with sea salt and baked for 15 minutes at 350 degrees.

For dessert I made ambrosia in a bowl….or in my case a tupperware container. This may look gross to some of you, but I promise it tastes really good.

In my mini chopper I put a small avocado, 8 medjool dates, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1 tbsp of carob powder. Then I mixed it all up until it was blended well and no chunks of dates remained. You can use a food processor, but I don’t have one. If you are craving chocolate, but don’t have any in the house this recipe will fix your craving after the first bite. Carob powder comes from a tropical pod just like cocoa powder, but it is naturally sweeter, caffeine free, and has 3x the amount of calcium. Don’t get me wrong though I lurve my dark chocolate too!

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

