Racing and Pizza

We’ll get to the pizza but first I signed up for the hypothermic half marathon in Edmonton on February 27th. I am pretty excited about this, because the last time I trained for a half marathon I ended up injury a couple of tendons in my lower leg and had to quit running for a year. That was the longest year of my life. I haven’t ran a half marathon yet, so this will be my first. I ran the first two legs (48 km) of the Canadian Death race (http://www.canadiandeathrace.com/) in under 6.5 hours in 2006 and The Edmonton ING marathon in 3:53:11 in 2007. In 2006 I also did a sprint triathlon in 1:23:58 (Swim-16:02, bike-45:27, run-22:30). I am planning on doing an olympic triathlon this June. I will probably be riding my mountain bike as I can’t afford to buy a new bike right now. I used a mountain bike for the sprint and it was fine. I know I’ll be biking double the distance in the olympic tri so it won’t be ideal, but it should be fun! The year after I ran my first marathon I ended with low ferritin levels, which is your iron stores. So I only felt tired when running distances over 7km. I was training for a marathon at the time and never ended up completing the training. The year after that I got injured and last summer I was still fighting off my injury and trying to build my endurance and strength back up. So this summer I am hoping to run another marathon and some trail races as well.

Anyways changing the topic to food, I made this amazing pizza last week. It is Deena Kastor’s recipe I found in a running world magazine.

Deena’s Caramelized Onion and Fig Pizza

Pizza dough for 1 pizza (I used the recipe on the jar of pizza yeast, but used spelt flour instead of all-purpose.)
1tbsp olive oil
2 yellow onions, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 cup arugula leaves, packed
6 dried figs, sliced
4 oz goat cheese, crumbled

Roll out dough to fit baking pan. Preheat oven to 450 degrees farenheit. Heat oil and saute onions with salt until brown. Add sugar and balsamic vinegar. Cook for 10 minutes. Spread onion mixture over dough, leaving an edge for the crust. Top with arugula, figs, and crumbled cheese. Place in oven for 15 minutes or until crust is golden. Remove from oven. Drizzle balsamic vinegar on top. Slice and serve.

Don’t do like I did and walk away from your pizza and phone your sister then proceed to talk for half an hour before you remember about your pizza. I didn’t burn it though. It was just very well done, nothing at all like the picture. I still ate it and believe it would have been amazing if I had taken it out 15 minutes earlier.

About richelleludwig

C.H.N. Certified Holistic Nutrition Consultant, Cognitive Approach Practitioner
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

