Gluten Free Sweet Potato Muffins

Hey guys! It’s been a while, too long actually. I was in Calgary at my new place the past 5 days and had planned to blog while I was there but guess what? I brought my laptop but not my internet stick, so no blogging got done. Lot’s of cleaning and walking did though! I had my orientation on Saturday at CSNN and am even more pumped to begin classes. I am so happy to have found something I am this excited about! Anyways onto the food.

Gluten Free Sweet Potato Muffins

2 tbsp ground flax
6 tbsp water

1 c Buckwheat flour
1/3 c Chickpea flour
1 tsp aluminum free baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
2/3 c raisins

1/3 c agave nectar
2/3 c Greek yogurt
2 1/4 c grated sweet potato (I used 1 small sweet potato and 1 medium carrot)

1) Preheat oven to 325 C. Combine ground flax and water and set until to thicken.
2) In a medium bowl combine buckwheat flour, chickpea flour, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon. Stir well until blended. Mix in raisins and set aside.


3) In a large bowl whisk eggs, sugar, and plain yogurt. Stir in grated sweet potato.



4) Fold flour mixture into wet mixture until blended. Scoop batter into muffins cups. Bake 30 -35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
These muffins are hearty with all the texture from the raisins, sweet potato and buckwheat flour. They are slightly sweetened and moist.

I will be posting more gluten-free recipes as my Naturopathic Doctor wants me to stay off gluten. I had a follow-up appointment with him last Wednesday and again found it very interesting. He received all my lab results as well as my ultrasound. The ultrasound was perfectly normal so that was good. My ferritin (iron stores), iron levels in my blood, estrogen and progesterone were all very low. My ferritin is at a 3 and normal range is between 15-200. The ND told me I put on a good face because I look pretty healthy for how low my iron and hormones are. So first things first I need to increase my iron and ferritin before we even bother with the hormones. There’s no way my body’s going to want menstruate again until my iron and ferritin levels are higher. How do we do this? He wants me to get an iron shot. Apparently it goes in the butt and hurts, and can make you feel sick. But it’s the quickest most efficient way to increase my ferritin. My ND thinks the doctors wont want to give it to me because it’s invasive and I don’t look that bad, but I have to try. So I will. I have an appointment tomorrow with a different doctor because the original one I saw is on holidays. I also have to keep eating meat, which I have been, see.

Salmon and millet with fresh dill and sautéed red chard and mushrooms


turkey tacos using local, organic ground turkey on organic sprouted corn tortillas with organic tomatoes, avocado and greek yogurt

Of course I’m going to try to eat better sources of meat, like local and organic.
Once my iron levels are restored I am going to go on cyclic natural progesterone therapy to get my hormones working again and see what happens from there. I still have to keep my runs short and can’t even do hot yoga. To be honest I think I’m going to quit running for a while at least and let my body heal. The less I stress it the quicker my iron levels should increase. I’ll just walk Jewel and do yoga. I found a studio close by to where I’m going to live in Calgary that focuses on Ashtanga yoga. Honestly I’m not even stressed out about stopping running and intense exercise. I’ve realized that exercise and diet aren’t the only factors in health and that there’s much more. I’ve also realized that you can do too much and I’m looking forward to slowing down and connecting with myself.

I’ll see you soon with a yummy almond butter recipe!

About richelleludwig

RHN Holistic Nutritionist
This entry was posted in Amenorrea, Exercise, Food, Naturopathic Doctor, Recipe, Running, Yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten Free Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Truly potato is indeed an all around vegan ingredient. It has so may uses that I think it can all be written in a single book. Here is another great and delicious usage of potato. A yummy muffin!

Leave a Reply

