Navy Bean and Veggies Burgers

I hope everyone’s week is going as quickly as mine is….because tomorrow is my friday! I leave for Sinister7 Thursday morning. The weather has been looking great down there, so I’m hopeing there won’t be much snow on my leg of the race.

I had a massage tonight so my muscles are all loosened up. Tomorrow morning I’m going to run a nice easy 5km and get a good stretch in. After work I need to do some serious packing. I did some baking and cooking ahead of time so I would have quick easy meals I won’t need to heat. When you’re camping you need burgers so I made Navy bean veggie burgers and just froze them. Here’s the recipe.

NAVY BEAN VEGGIE BURGERS

14oz can of navy beans
1 c mushrooms, diced
1/3 c onion, diced
1/2 red pepper, diced
1 medium carrot, shredded
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 tsp basil
1/2 tsp thyme
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 tbsp ground flax
1/3 c raw pumpkin seeds, soaked overnight
1 tbsp tamari
3/4 c chickpea flour

1) Pre-heat oven to 375 F.
2) Mix all ingredients in a food bowl except seeds and flour.
3) Put about 2/3 to 3/4 of the mixture into the food processor or blender and blend until fairly smooth. Scoop back into bowl and mix with pumpkin seeds and flour.
4) Form into about 8 patties and place on greased baking sheet. Bake 25-28 minutes flipping halfway through.

Unfortunately I forgot to take a pretty picture of the one I ate on squirrely toast with all the fixins. Oh well you can use your imagination right! I loved how well these held their shape and they looked good too. I have made bean burgers before that looked pretty bland. Of course these tasted good too, I loved the pumpkin seeds in them.

Well wish me luck! I will be back with a race recap and m experience running the 35km’s of leg 3 of Sinister7.

About richelleludwig

RHN Holistic Nutritionist
This entry was posted in Food, Racing, Recipe, Running, Vegetarianism. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Navy Bean and Veggies Burgers

  1. Great recipe! This is the healthiest patties I have ever tasted and made. Thanks for sharing this. I will be using this on our coming Saturday get together.

Leave a Reply

