Tofu Curry

Hey guys! Hope your week has been going well. Mine has been busy, busy, busy. I am so glad I’m taking a little break to go visit my mom in B.C. This morning I was up at 5am so I could get my workout out in on the TRX and all my stretching and strengthening the physio gave me. For breakfast I did manage to make a bowl of hot oatbran.This bowl contained:
1/3 c oatbran
2/3 c soy milk
1/3 c water
1 ripe banana, diced
cinnamon
1 tbsp chia seeds
drizzled with almond butter

Lunch
This plate includes a Quinoa salad my friend dropped off, which was amazing. It had toasted almonds, green onions, sugar snap peas and something sweet and chewy. I think it might have been dried pineapple. I need to get the recipe. I also had a bit of leftover mushroom risotto and sauteed brussel sprouts.

After work I had a spin class, then rushed home to make the Tofu Curry recipe I had found the other on No Meat Athlete. The original recipe can be found here. Here’s what I used:

Tofu Curry

3 tsp coconut oil
4 tomatoes on the vine
1 carton extra firm tofu, drained, dried and cubed
1/2 yellow onion
1/2 can coconut milk
3 tbsp green curry paste
soy sauce, to taste
handful of mint, chopped
sea salt

1) Heat 1 tsp coconut oil in skillet over medium high heat. Add tomatoes and stir-fry for a few minutes. Sprinkle with sea salt and transfer to a bowl and set aside.
2) Wipe out skillet and add 1 tsp coconut oil over medium high heat. Add tofu and brown. Place on a plate and set aside.

3) Add last tsp of coconut oil to skillet and add onions. Brown lightly for a few minutes, then add coconut milk and curry paste to pan whisking to combine. Let thicken a bit, then add tofu, tomatoes, soy sauce and mint.
I served mine over whole wheat spaghetti, because I didn’t want to wait for rice to cook.
On the side I had organic mixed greens topped with leftover brussel sprouts.This curry was so good. I loved the creaminess the coconut milk gave it and the flavours from the curry paste. The mint just took it over the top. I have never cooked with mint before, but I can definitely see myself doing so more often.

Well excuse me while I go stretch for another hour and take the fur child for a quick walk. we’re halfway through this quick week!

About richelleludwig

RHN Holistic Nutritionist
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

